Do you need a computer of some kind (windows or mac) to set up iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iFanboy, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. iFanboy Guest

    #1
    Currently, I don't have a computer of my own (I will in a few weeks) but have an iPhone 5 on the way.

    When the iPhone 5 arrives can I set it up without needing a computer (windows or mac) for anything?

    Or is it as simple as insert sim, set up phone itself and then all done?
     
  2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #2
    Just turn it on and walk through the on screen setup guide. Worst case you might have to call your carrier if it doesn't activate on its own in a few minutes.
     
  3. LePigeonBleu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3
    the sim will come in it.

    you can activate and do everything without a computer. use icloud too.

    m
     
  4. LouieSamman macrumors 6502a

    LouieSamman

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #4
    With iCloud you don't ever need your computer! Just turn it on, follow the steps, and enjoy!
     
  5. Trek2100 macrumors 6502a

    Trek2100

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Catonsville, MD
    #5
    NO. You activate it when you turn it on. The sim is already installed with the correct chip for the wireless provider you have. You can get apps, music, etc., from the app store and iTunes apps on the phone. You can perform backups to the iCloud. That is also set up through the phone. Or, when you get your computer you can back up to your computer through iTunes, your choice.
     
  6. jesusplay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    SOUTH
    #6
    whatever sim you put in it will activate it.

    i used scissors yesterday and cut my micro sim into a nano sim and worked....
     
  7. bpeeps macrumors 68020

    bpeeps

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

Share This Page