Do you think they will bring fw 400 back in the updated 17' unibody when it arrives?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MatLane, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #1
    I hope they do. At the moment i really think i will need to buy the old ones or that 17 in the lineup


    Need it for interfaces and that.

    Anybody else miss it?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. macrem macrumors 65816

    macrem

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #3
    I only use fw800 so no need.

    Is it difficult to use the fw800->400 adapter?
     
  4. rolex54 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  5. MatLane thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #5
    lol is there one?

    Dont mean to sound thick
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I'm surprised you missed out on all the complaints and FW800 to 400 adapter threads.
     
  7. rolex54 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    yes there is
    adapter
    and there is also a
    Cable
     
  8. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    Why it has FW400 in the FW800 plug.

    Requires you to simply buy a new $10 cable or a $20 adapter.
     
  9. MatLane thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #9
    i sure did!
     
  10. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    Actually I think that the new 17" is going to have all the good stuff. Both FW ports, at least three USB ports, the high res screen and possib a matte option.
     
  11. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #11
    The second Firewire port gets you nothing. The old one had both ports on the same bus, so they sucked each other's bandwidth, and using the 400 port knocked 800 one down to 400 speeds to. You are loosing absolutely nothing by using 6pin-9pin cables and daisy chaining.
     
  12. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    So what happens if you plug a 400 cable into an 800 device that's attached to the MBP?
     
  13. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #13
    In a daisy chain? Both go to 400. What else would they do?

    My point is, a lot of people seem to think that loosing the FW400 port cost them bandwidth, or the ability to run a 400 and 800 device at the same time, when in reality, the old machines couldn't do that either.
     
  14. joegomolski macrumors 6502

    joegomolski

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    So CA
  15. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #15
    I'm somehow doubtful they're going to include it. They're trying to reduce as much clutter as possible and introduce a universal design.
     
  16. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    I'd much rather have an eSATA/USB port like the one on the Qosimo X305.
     
  17. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #17
    eSata on a Mac? I wish :(
     
  18. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #18
    Firewire 3200!!!!!!!!!!111!!11

    I bet 400 gets nixed. Possibly two 800 and 3 USB 2.0.
     

Share This Page