Does Apple ever making "running" changes during a build period

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by greenville, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. greenville macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #1
    I saw where samsung is coming out with a sata 3 drive with up to a 512 ssd drive and wondered if Apple ever made running changes during the production of the macbook pro like replacing the sata 2 with a sata 3?
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    I don't think they will, the SATA III SSD's are quite up to snuff yet, and Apple probably has deals/contracts to respect for this generation MBP, so I strongly doubt they'll switch.
     
  3. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #3
    Yes apple does make running changes.
    The 2011 MBP is a prime although not highly publicized example. The units shipping until mid may had a SATA II drive optical drive in them. The new units have a SATA III optical connection. Only useful if you plan to put SATA III SSDs in both bays.
     
  4. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #4
    Correct, except that the SATA III optical connection in the newer build 15" and 17" models does not function at all if you put a SATA III drive in it. :(

    13" is fine though.
     
  5. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
  6. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #6
    Click on 'About This Mac' then 'More Info' and select the optical drive under Hardware/Serial-ATA. If 'Link Speed' is '6 Gigabit' then don't bother putting a SATA III drive there. Unless you have a 13" MBP.

    sys-profiler.png
     
  7. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #7
    it's 6 Gigabit

    so does that mean I have sata II or III? or III but it's not functioning?
     
  8. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #8
    SATA III but it won't function with a SATA III drive, not a SATA III SSD anyway. A SATA II drive will be fine though.

    Your main bay will be fine with a SATA III SSD, its just the optical bay port that's broken.
     
  9. MOKHAN macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    Sorry, I'm a little confused. Wouldn't a 6 Gigabit link speed mean that it DOES support Sata III? And 3 Gigabit would mean it supports Sata II? :confused:

    EDIT: oops, didn't see the "Unless you have a 13" MBP" part
     
  10. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #10
    The 15"'s and 17"'s have a grounding/interference issue that prevents them from getting any link at all with a SATA III drive in the optical bay, the 13" doesn't have that problem. Better?
     
  11. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #11
    Why would you actually buy SSDs from Apple as opposed to putting them in yourself?

    Lol, you guys must have more money than sense.
     

Share This Page