Does AT&T no longer allow data surfing while on a call?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gmiller598, Sep 25, 2012.

  1. gmiller598 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    I was jsut on a phone call this morning and my phone wouldn't allow me to surf in safari or check facebook etc while I was connected on the call. I know Sprint and verizon don't allow it but has AT&T started now too?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It's not that Sprint and Verizon don't allow it ... their network architecture does not allow for simultaneous voice and data - it's a network limitation, not a carrier decision.

    You may have had low signal strength, or the network may have been saturated.
     
  3. auero macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #3
    True to an extent. Once Verizon switches to Voice over LTE there should be no reason why they can't do both.
     
  4. Irish Rose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    True, but CDMA (3G) cannot do voice and data without a second radio.
     
  6. forza1976 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Denver CO
    #6
    Talk and browse simultaneously works for me on my ATT ip5.. FYI
     
  7. huskerchad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
  8. simply stunning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #8
    It works just fine for me using the Iphone 5 on ATT with 4G and about 2 bars.
     
  9. spring macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #9
    Perhaps you were on Edge which does not allow voice and data simultaneously.
     
  10. gmiller598 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #10
    I'm beginning to think that was the case. It must have dropped to edge briefly this morning. I tested it again from the same location on another call today and it worked fine.
     

Share This Page