Does getting iPhone 5 for Sprint requires a deposit ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DBZmusicboy01, Sep 27, 2012.

  1. DBZmusicboy01 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #1
    and what if the credit score is around 650ish
     
  2. famoussasjohn macrumors 6502a

    famoussasjohn

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #2
    No one can answer that. Go apply in store and see if you get approved or not.
     
  3. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #3
    LOL yes plenty can answer that. Don't answer if you don't know?
    Sprint NEVER has a deposit...they may have a while ago but not now.
    They have what's called spending limits. If you have low credit they only allow you to have a monthly bill of x amount. I had sprint when my credit was just being establish 550 or so. My spending limit was $150. Just means my monthly bill can't exceed that. So only 2 lines max. Or 1 line and a tablet etc.
     
  4. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    My credit score is really bad, partly due to both identity theft, as well as being an irresponsible college student. 440 is my score.

    No deposits :). Sprint service actually is very decent in my area too, better than my AT&T and T-Mobile service was for sure.

    It doesn't matter what your credit score is however, your first bill will always be abnormally high, due to pro-ration. I do have a spending limit of $150, and I'm on the $79.99/month 450 minute plan. I also got an 18% employer discount. I'm more than happy.

    If your credit is way worse than mine, it's also refreshing to know that their highest deposit is only $250 (compared to VZW/T-Mobile/ATT's $700), even if you previously owed them a balance!
     
  5. famoussasjohn macrumors 6502a

    famoussasjohn

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #5
    You are pretty far off about the whole "no deposit" thing. I work for Sprint. I just had a customer have a $400 deposit last week. Spending limit allows customers with people that don't have credit established or mediocre credit to get service. You can even have a deposit along with the spending limit.


    http://shop2.sprint.com/en/legal/legal_terms_privacy_popup.shtml?ECID=vanity:termsandconditions


    "A deposit, in most instances between $50 and $750 (but sometimes up to $1000), may be required per line to establish service."

    Educate yourself, then respond back.
     
  6. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #6
    No Sprint should educate their employees I only said what one of their employees told me.. When I had this exact same question when i applied for service.
    I stand corrected

    I'm glad you are so well educated on your job, that's a rare quality in someone working in retail.
     
  7. 1080p macrumors 68020

    1080p

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
  8. Mr Hill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Don't know about Verizon/AT&T but at T-Mobile our deposits max out at $400. Most I've ever seen someone's credit require them to pay was $250 though. I'm not sure what one could do that would be bad enough for us to require them to pay a $400 deposit. I believe we're the most lenient with credit checks probably because we don't carry the iPhone.
     
  9. famoussasjohn macrumors 6502a

    famoussasjohn

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #9
    Sorry about being harsh in my original post.
    I agree about the store reps not being trained, I unfortunately don't work in a store. It's depressing for all the stories we get about store reps not knowing what they talk about. That's pretty much how it is with every retailer. I just went to best buy to redeem a coupon for being a premier customer, the first cashier didn't know how to ring it up properly and told me to go to customer service. I was even walking him through the transaction and he still failed to follow the instructions as I used to work at Best Buy :p

    ----------

    When I worked at Best Buy, I did a credit check with a friend of mine, and he had a $700 deposit with AT&T. I don't understand some carriers asinine deposits lol. Why not just tell them they weren't approved?
     

Share This Page