Does hope matter? Do you have hope in something?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by mscriv, Apr 5, 2011.

1. mscriv macrumors 601

mscriv

From Wikipedia:

From Merriam Webster:

Does hope affect or impact you?

Philosophers have debated this topic for centuries, but what say you? Does the concept of hope even apply in today's world or is it an archaic notion that is no longer needed or useful?

I'm not just asking the question from a theoretical perspective, but also a personal one. Do you have hope in someone or something that is a part of your everyday life and if so how does that impact you?

For me personally, hope is an integral part of my life. I am a person of faith and hope in my beliefs is foundational to everything I do. Additionally, as a therapist I believe in people's free will and their ability to change things in their life for the better. Hope is a vital part of the therapeutic process.

2. iJohnHenry, Apr 5, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011

iJohnHenry macrumors P6

iJohnHenry

<enigmatic post>

I worry not about hope for myself, but I give hope, in minute doses, to others.

</enigmatic post>

EDIT April 6th, 6:35 PM: Sorry doc, I seam to have busted your thread. lol

3. mscriv, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011

mscriv thread starter macrumors 601

mscriv

No worries iJH, I don't think you busted anything. It's a difficult topic to talk about and some people probably don't know what to say or haven't really given much thought to it before. (that's why I thought it would be an interesting discussion)

I'm glad you are a part of instilling hope in others with your volunteer work and, if my memory serves me correctly, your regular job as well. I think that's awesome. :)

4. Gelfin macrumors 68020

Gelfin

I'm of two minds, which I don't think are really all that incompatible.