Does iPad need to be sat on Airport to load YouTube Videos?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Soundburst, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. Soundburst macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    Just incase anyone is thinking of buying an iPad but might also want to use the YouTube app. . . Don't buy it.

    I'm browsing the web great here. . .got great speed . . .loading everything fast. . .if I dare to open the YouTube app the videos will load for about 2 seconds and then stop.

    I've followed akk the tips about changing settings and dns stuff and all that and it still doesn't work. So much for "it just works".

    Rubbish.
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    "It just works" fine for me. Your ISP perhaps. Is your iPad jailbroken?
     
  3. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #3
    Virgin Media fibre optic broadband 20mb and working absolutely perfectly on the MacBook Pro.

    It's iPad and its retarded. :(

    iPhone loads them great too.
     
  4. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #4
    The YT app is working fine for me on an Airport Express.

    FW: 4.3.3
    32 GB Wi-Fi only
     
  5. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #5
    Works great for me also. There have been many threads about this problem. It's not the iPad. Do a search for the previous threads.
     
  6. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #6
    It's not the iPad?

    So it's. . .the airport which is connected to every other device in my house?

    The fibre optic broadband which is the sole provider of Internet to every other device in the house?

    Of course it's iPad.

    I'm going to upload a little video I took using my iPhone to show the problem. It happens with every video. . I chose a video that has bright colours and someone talking.

    P.s to view the video you'll need to be browsing on any device on earth that ISN'T an iPad (as the video probably won't load on iPad :rolleyes:)

    Edit: here's the problem:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3xNyvR-2E0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

    FINE if you want to watch videos with no sound and in super duper slow motion.
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    Is it running the latest iOS? Is it jailbroken? What Airport Express (g or n) are you using?
     
  8. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #8
    Fixed that for ya! :D

    Many people (most probably) with iPads don't experience this issue. Therefore, it's not just "the" iPad, but your particular one.
     
  9. Blorzoga macrumors 68030

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #9
    It's not the ipad, it's you. YouTube works fine on ipad2.
     
  10. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #10
    I'm using the n airport.

    I fully firmwared.

    This issue is widespread on the Internet (ie not just MY iPad) and I've yet to see a real fix.

    Anyone got an iPad and want the link to the video I was trying to play in that video?
     
  11. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  12. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #12
    Oh I see. . . .I'm. . .pushing the video I want to watch in the wrong way? :confused:Good one.

    Works on iPhone.
    Works on PS3
    Works on MacBook Pro.
    Works on Dell.
    Doesn't work on iPad 2.

    Don't get me wrong. . .not ALL videos don't work. . .but a lot don't.
     
  13. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    I'll type slowly for the fourth time.

    Is it j a i l b r o k e n ?
     
  14. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #15
    I've already said that I'm fully firmware updated.

    Ie. . .my iPad 2 has been updated through iTunes.

    I'm fully up to date with firmware.

    I obviously not jail broken.
     
  15. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #17
    Thanks for that but I've tried all that.

    Sorry for being bitchy to you earlier, I'm just frustrated.

    Perhaps it's only high quality videos that it struggles with. Maybe theyll patch it or something.
     
  16. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #18
    FWIW, your link plays just fine on my iPad 1
    Both in iCab and in the YouTube app
     
  17. Soundburst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
  18. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #20
    iCab is just a browser
     
  19. Shawnpk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #21

Share This Page