Does Mac Pro suppose to use with a "non Apple" monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by j2ee, Apr 1, 2017.

  1. j2ee Suspended

    j2ee

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #1
    I don't see Apple sells single monitor anymore...so what monitor suppose to work with Mac Pro?
     
  2. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    Depending on the model of your Mac Pro, any modern monitor with the correct cable should work. In you are on the latest (2013, model 6,1), then any monitor up to 4K with a miniDP or HDMI connection will work.

    I'm personally using a Dell 27" monitor connected via miniDP, works great.

    You won't be able to change the brightness any non-Apple display with the brightness control keys on Mac keyboards (at least not without a script and custom software).
     
  3. j2ee thread starter Suspended

    j2ee

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #3
    Mac Pro works with non Apple keyboard and mice? How would the Apple command key even work that way?
     
  4. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
    I think the Windows key gets mapped to the Command key.

    You can hook up any standard mouse. Fancy mice with lots of buttons would require a driver. There are many non-Apple branded mice that provide Mac drivers.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    And, you can swap the modifier keys around in macOS, such as the Command key, through the System Preferences/Keyboard/Modifier Keys button.
    Most any keyboard will work on a Mac. There may be some keyboards that don't use a Mac's boot keys correctly, but there's usually work-arounds for that, too.
     
  6. Synchro3, Apr 1, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2017

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    Not any. If it's a 4K monitor it should support SST (Single Stream Transport) via DisplayPort 1.2.

    And 10 Bit color (via 8bit+FRC).
     
  7. j2ee thread starter Suspended

    j2ee

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #7
    New logitech mice and keyboard have mac driver? Plug and play or I need to install? Thx.
     
  8. tygrubb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #8
    You'll have to check with the product's documentation.
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    Logitech has provided Mac software for their input devices for years. I choose to ignore that software, and just use the keyboard and mouse as they will work fine without the Logitech software. The Logitech software does give you other, optional control over buttons, and may allow you to adjust the cursor speed to your liking, in the event that the native settings don't appeal to you.
    I have a logitech mouse that I got for my first iMac in 2000. Still works, too!
     
  10. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    I use a Logitech G700 gaming mouse and a Corsair K65 keyboard with my Mac, both work just fine. The volume/mute buttons on the keyboard even work without needing a separate driver. The mouse worse fine as-is, but I run the Logitech software in order to map all of the buttons to various tasks.
     

Share This Page