Does my IMEI Unlocked AT&T iPhone 4S support CDMA or no?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulbennett95, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. paulbennett95 macrumors 6502a

    paulbennett95

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    It was originally locked to AT&T but now is unlocked (confirmed on iTunes) and I wanted to use it with Virgin Mobile which is CDMA, can I do that?

    If not, do you have any suggestions for a GSM carrier that offers data-only plans which ISN'T T-Mobile (I have them now, I only get edge, and it doesn't even work in any app that isn't Safari or Facebook)

    Thanks.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Nope, you cant use it on any CDMA carrier.
    Just GSM.
     
  3. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #3
    even if it was CDMA, you wouldn't be able to use it on Virgin Mobile without some trickery.
     
  4. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    Other than Tmobile you're stuck with AT&T or one of their prepaid mvnos like Net10 or H2O.

    Or you could just trade in your 4S and get the Tmobile iPhone. That one should have 4G in most areas instead of Edge.
     
  5. paulbennett95 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    paulbennett95

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #6
    How do I trade in for the t-mobile version?
     
  6. macalec macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #7
    I do not think you can trade it in. I am sure you can sell it on various sites.
     
  7. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Tmobile stores accept trade ins. I believe they offer $220 for the 4S
     
  8. macalec macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #9

    When I said I did not think you could trade in, I meant Apple.
     

Share This Page