Does Randall Terry speak for American Catholics?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by 63dot, Jan 25, 2011.

1. 63dot, Jan 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011

63dot macrumors 603

63dot

http://www.goddiscussion.com/39449/anti-abortion-activist-runs-for-president-to-air-super-bowl-ads/

Like him or not, Randall Terry, who has the power of a Cardinal rendered onto to him by the Vatican (or some say the conservative Pope), succeeded where nobody else did in the pro-life movement with Operation Rescue. I don't know, or care, if Terry becomes the Pope and the Church changes its rules. The Church should be allowed to run themselves and that's fine by me.

Though I am a Christian and pro-life (but liberal in politics on dozens of other issues and thus not a Republican), I am bothered by a man of such a prominent religious position running for President in 2012. While Terry downplays his effect, he can gain a foothold in a recession economy presided by an unpopular president.

In the past, men who have become ordained and moved up through the ranks have run for President and barely a peep was heard about separation of church and state. I have had discussions with my pastor on this issue where he, a liberal Democrat, has no problem mixing the two. However, in these times, this could be big news, especially since Terry can garner plenty of financial contributions. He's no regular "cardinal" or national vicar of Christ or religious figure/chief spokesperson, but in addition to what title he goes by this month, he has always had a strong level of support among conservative Protestants and Catholics. He is extremely charismatic and intelligent. On top of that, he has organizational skills that, well, a president should be expected to have.