Doing something you love for avg pay or something you won't like for a decent salary?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by heehee, Sep 25, 2008.

1. heehee macrumors 68020

heehee

I'm currently a graphic designer for an investment company. The pay is above average because my boss is pretty wealthy (100 richest guy in Canada), 10-15% raise every year plus 10-15% bonus. I love this job, flexible hours, have nice co-workers and my boss is extremely nice.

I recently have this opportunity from one of my best friends. I've known him for 15 years or so and his family owns a few fairly large restaurants. I've worked there in my college days as a waiter. His family is opening up another restaurant and he asked me if I wanted to be a manager there. I came up with some pros and cons, I can think of alot more cons than pros, but it's hard to pass up earning 3 times what I currently make.

Upside:

1. Earning over 3 times what I currently make.

Downside:

1. My friend is my boss (he's the greatest friend you can have, but there is always a downside to mixing business and friends).
    2. Long and tough hours, 12+ hours and working weekends. (restaurant business) I worked there 8 years ago as a waiter and it's tough.
    3. If I don't like it, it's not like I can just pack up and find another job.
    4. I would be working for money instead of doing something I like.
    5. I would have to put a huge amount down, about 10%.
    6. IF business is not as great as the other restaurants or if he decides to sell it, I don't know if I can find the same job I'm currently working in.

What would you guys do? Did anyone pass up a job they love and work else where for more money? :confused:

2. hartwork macrumors member

If that's the only pro you can think of, then it's a no-brainer.

Myself included, I'd bet that most people would choose a job they love for less pay than a hateful well-paying job. What good is the extra money if you don't have a balanced and happy life?