Don't purchase the 1440x900, even if you like larger fonts.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by miketwo, Apr 21, 2010.

1. miketwo macrumors newbie

Here's some background to start:

I'm a programmer, so I spend 90% of my time looking at text. Prior to the 15" i7, I had a 2006 MacBook Pro with a 1440x900 screen. I loved it. The text renders clean and it's considerably large, as I prefer it to be.

Fast-Forward:
    I ordered the 15" i7 with the standard display, figuring I'd save $100 and save myself the frustration of having to enlarge everything with the hi-res screen. I made a mistake. The quality of the 1440x900 on the 2010 model is considerably worse than the 2006 1440x900. The text is pixelated, and when bold goes so far as being muddy. Given my dissatisfaction, I took a ride down to the Apple store to see the hi-res screen, and they do not have these issues. The text is crisp and clean, even when enlarged to a size that's equivalent with the 1440x900. I'm returning my new mac in order to purchase it again, but with the hi-res.

In my opinion, there's no reason to go with the 1440x900 unless you want to save a hundred and pixelated fonts don't bother you. If you look at text all day, you'll want the cleaner fonts of the 1680x1050. If you do photos or video, you'll want the higher resolution of the 1680x1050.

2. recKz macrumors newbie

I disagree, my text is fine and not pixelated. There is no need for me to have bought the higher resolution screen and am extremely happy with the 1440x900.

3. Gorilla Power macrumors 6502

Gorilla Power

Text is pixelated ? Maybe you need an eye check up :p because it most certainly is not. Sorry.

4. Cali3350 macrumors regular

There would be no reason for Apple to switch LCD manufacturers. You can actually check yourself though - just look at system information. If anything, you likely got a lemon.

5. miketwo thread starter macrumors newbie