don't remember my MBA password, is there a foolproof way to find or reset it to something else?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Taisiya, Nov 15, 2016.

1. Taisiya macrumors regular

I have a 2014 MBA with 128gb SSD and 11.6" screen.

I was originally purchased from B&H Photo back in 2014. During the 2.5 years, I've only been asked the password once but I just skipped over it. The MBA has been used almost every single day because it's my main computer.

However, I'd like to know if there's a 100% foolproof easy way for me to find the password... or reset it to something else.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

2. ipsychedelic macrumors 6502a

ipsychedelic

1. Reboot into recovery mode
    2. Use the terminal to bring back the setup assistant via:
    Code:
    rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone
    3. Reboot and create a new account (which will be admin by default)
    4. Reset your main account's password
    5. Make sure you don't have fast user switching or whatever that annoying feature is called so you can:
    6. Log into your regular account, and delete the account in (3)

Sounds too easy to be true, but I had to do it a couple nights ago when I fresh installed Sierra onto a MBA and due to the keyboard layouts (US in software vs ES in hardware) I locked myself, since I had no idea what the real password was. So I did all of that before.

Which seems strange, since now that I think about it, could be used against you by someone trying to log in, can be done in 3-5 minutes depending on how fast the machine boots.

3. Taisiya thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for your help!

But I guess I should have made it clear that I'm a computer idiot...

You lost me at (1) when you said recovery mode... :(

I don't think I've even restarted my MBA in months..

4. akadafni macrumors regular

>Power On Computer
    >At the Startup Sound a press and hold CMD R on the left side of keyboard
    >When you see apple logo release and wait for Recovery to load