Downgrade from 1.1.3 and jailbreak... Can i still use my iphone as a phone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Kenny Wuuu, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. Kenny Wuuu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #1
    After reading many sites and looking for this topic, I failed to find any information about it. My question is:

    If i downgrade from 1.1.3 to 1.1.2 then jailbreak, i know it will be an ipod touch in the sense that i cannot use the phone capabilities. But if i then upgrade it to 1.1.3 using the soft mod, can i use it as a phone again. Can someone please clarify!!! I have a PC and all the instructions needed to do so. I'm bored of my regular phone and want to go back to my hacked phone. I am a legit AT&T customer too btw. :confused:
     
  2. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I have been looking everywhere for a step by step instruction on how to do this; i have not found such a site, however from my understandings you need:

    A phone that had 1.1.1 or earlier out of the box, so the bootloader is version 4.9 or earlier (if i am not mistaken)
    And a jailbroken 1.1.2 or earlier phone, because then the baseband isn't upgraded either.

    I guess the problem isn't jailbreaking the 1.1.3 phone, its the baseband, which dictates anything having to do with using a cellular antenna. I.e., you can get a jail-broken "glorified ipod touch".

    I have yet to find a step by step guide for downgrading the baseband.

    If anyone knows of a step-by-step, and complete guide to going from a: virginized 1.1.3 phone, downgrading both the firmwire and baseband down to 1.1.1 compatibility, jail-breaking the 1.1.1 firmwire, then back up to a jailbroken, 1.1.3 phone; PLEASE post it on here or PM me.
     
  3. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  4. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #4
    You can downgrade your iphone to 1.1.1 and still use it as a phone. Downgrade it to 1.1.1, jailbreak it using jailbreakme.com, and download the baseband downgrader from the source i.unlock.no and then just upgrade to 1.1.2 or keep it at 1.1.1 and you have a functional phone again, the guide is over at modmyifone.com.

    Here if you want a functional 1.1.2 or 1.1.1 downgraded iphone:
    http://modmyifone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25695

    Here if you want to downgrade to 1.1.1, jailbreak, upgrade to 1.1.2, jailbreak then have a fully functional 1.1.3:
    http://modmyifone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27454
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Phones with bootloader 4.6 (out of box 1.1.2 and later) cannot downgrade baseband at this time.
     
  6. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #6
    This is awesome!

    Do you happen to know of one that's just as comprehensive but designed for macs?:eek:
     
  7. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #7
    That was my problem but its the same process and when it tells you to use ibrickr to boot the phone just use independence to boot the iphone and just use the jailbreak jar part of the 1.1.2 jailbreak for mac and i noticed that after it says jailbreak complete for the 1.1.2 jailbreak jar file, use independence again to boot it. Also when it says use the windows run command to put it in DFU mode, just hold the power and home button till the phone turns of and keep holding the home button till itunes tells you it detected an iphone in recovery mode
     
  8. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8

    Alright I'm going to give it a try when I get home again.

    About an hour ago when I had the time I got my phone up to 1.1.2, but apptapp wouldn't reboot my phone, I would click "Install AppTap!" and nothing would happen. Pretty frustrating, I fully restored and am back to a virginized 1.1.3. :mad:
     
  9. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #9
    I hope you meant 1.1.1 cuz apptapp only works with 1.1.1, not 1.1.2, for 1.1.2 you have to install oktoprep on 1.1.1 and then upgrade to 1.1.2, download the dev teams jealbreak and run the jailbreak.jar file
     
  10. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    Yes, this is what I meant, sorry.

    But I am happy to report that I have gotten my phone up to 1.1.3, with ATT signal and use of all baseband, and its jailbroken!

    I came across this site which is very intuitive for both Macs and PC:

    Here!

    At the end, I had to manually load the lockdownd, this guide doesn't say that, but luckily the mac-rumors guide brought to us by SBrocket does!
    Check it out:

    Final Part

    (Step 26 is the specific step for finalizing the lockdownd)

    Hope this helps!:cool:

    EDIT: I later realized that the Installer.app was not working properly on the phone, and I was getting script error everytime i tried to install something or even update the .app itself. Google is my new bff, quick simple fix:

    Right here, in Terminal, log back into your phone's IP
     
  11. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #11
    Cool, glad to see everything is working ok:)
     
  12. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    now I'm stuck at another problem:confused:

    My installer.app kept crashing and I was lead to believe was due to my drive being full (this was a %100 virginized phone so I don't get that one at all) and I somehow removed the installer.app from my home screen. One of the apps I downloaded however is still there...

    So this is where I'm at:

    1.1.3 baseband-signal acquiring phone
    kind of jailbroken? I still HAVE the ssh client enabling me to connect to my phone.

    Is anyone aware of a way for me to reinstall the apptapp installer.app via ssh command? Or maybe have another suggestion? I'm fearing the possibility of starting the jailbreak entirely over and trying again. Please let me know:D
     
  13. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    Any ideas? I'm still stuck, any help is appreciated.
     
  14. Bernie-Mac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    #14
    did you try using bosstools to move your apps and stuff to your media partition to free up space? that could be why it never downloads anything
     
  15. Dakotafan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #15
    this is what I did going from 1.1.3->1.1.1 JB w/ phone
     
  16. Kenny Wuuu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #16
    i got fairly far in the downgrade and jailbreak my iphone. But i had to use Command Prompt on my comp and i got this very nasty error.
    16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem
    ----------------------------
    C:/WINDOWS\system32\cmd.com
    The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction.

    Only options are close and ignore. Both close command prompt and it cannot be used.

    Can someone help!!

    Also while downgrading my backup file got corrupted and I lost everything. So a warning to those who use this is YOU CAN MESS UP EASILY!!
     
  17. bosxe macrumors member

    bosxe

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #17
    I had no space left to install the boss tool :(

    But I just did a complete redo on the whole process, and now everything is absolutely perfect...

    Only thing is, I haven't had a jailbroken phone since 1.1.1, and I really don't know which apps are worth while.

    Also, I downloaded iPhysics and I LOVE it, but I can't seem to get the levels from Pinball to work...
     

Share This Page