Downgraded a 3G from 3.1 to 3.0/3.0.1 with iTunes 9 and added tethering

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by -aggie-, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #1
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You can ask TheSpaz how to downgrade. That way you can go back down to 2.2.1 and use iTunes to go back up to 3.0.0 or 3.0.1.
     
  3. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    Should I paste your post from here in response? :)

    Seriously, this is not the same thing as what he wanted to do, at least it's not to get things more snappy. If I want tethering, which I need due to a son in Iraq wanting to Skype so he can at least be present in some way at a funeral, then I have to downgrade to OS 3.0.1 or 3.0.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    It's easier to go back down to 2.2.1, much more "controlled". :eek: I was actually serious. We already know iTunes refuses to play nice with downgrades. So we need a much more controllable firmware (2.2.1 in this case)
     
  5. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Well, I got this to work using iTunes 9, for anyone that cares. I did it on Windows XP. It worked flawlessly, and I downgraded to OS 3.0.

    I then applied the AT&T 6.0 .ipcc using this thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=792908

    Someone said they couldn't get XP to work, and that is because the younger generation doesn't know DOS, I would think. You can't just copy this:

    "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunes.exe" /setPrefInt carrier-testing 1

    and get it to work, since you need to CD (DOS command for change directory) to the iTunes directory in whatever drive you have iTunes. Then you type:

    iTunes.exe /setPrefInt carrier-testing 1

    After that you just load whatever .ipcc you wanted to use from the thread above. I chose 6.0, and now I have tethering, MMS, and VVM.

    At first tethering didn't work, and I got a message to contact AT&T for assistance. I simply reset the phone and the message didn't come up again. Also, at first I couldn't get the LAN connection to be enabled, even though it was seen on my computer, but either a reboot or a reset of the phone made it work finally.

    So, now I have tethering for a funeral Friday, where my wife's son in Iraq will be able to Skype into it and be present as much as you can by Skype (that's the only reason I even did all this).
     
  6. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #6
    You can downgrade to 2.2.1 from iTunes 9.0.1 easily.

    1. Download PwnageTool 2.2.5 for Mac
    2. Follow the on-screen instructions to pwn your iPhone (make sure not to check "Activate iPhone")
    3. Use PwnageTool to help you get in DFU mode and restore to your custom firmware.
    4. Your iPhone should downgrade to 2.2.1 really easily with iTunes 8.2.1

    You can either leave it at that (if you want to be jailbroken). Simply jailbreaking without installing Cydia or Installer would probably be fine for most people.

    For those who wish not to be jailbroken, you still have to do the steps above in order to downgrade to a non-jailbroken iPhone.

    Now we'll need to re-restore your iPhone to the official 2.2.1 firmware. Follow the next instructions:

    5. Option-Click Restore and choose the *official* 2.2.1 firmware
    6. It will look like it's installing 2.2.1, but it will finish with an error (If you have an iPhone 3G). This is normal.

    Here's the trickiest part. You need Windows for the next step. Note, this step is only for iPhone 3G users.

    1. Download QuickPwn 2.2.5 for Windows and plug in your iPhone.
    2. Now it will ask you to hold down Power and Home for 15 seconds. Do that.
    3. Your iPhone will now boot up

    If you don't have access to Windows and you're using a Mac, do the following:

    Download a command-line tool called "iRecovery" and install it.

    Then open Utilities>Terminal.app

    Then enter these commands (Note: Hit return after every line):

    Code:
    iRecovery -s
    setenv auto-boot true
    saveenv
    fsboot
    There you go.

    All of this works on Windows, Leopard and Snow Leopard and you can use iTunes 9.

    Piece of cake. I've done it so many times now it's natural. Hah!
     
  7. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    Why did you add that? What I did was much easier.



    Edit2: And CC&P were too important to me to go to 2.2.1. I know you don't use it, but I do all the time. I went to OS 3.0, to see if it fixes a headphone issue I'm having, since I didn't have it until OS 3.0.1 (I know that didn't add anything but the fix for the SMS hack, but I'm making sure.)
    Edit: You mean you missed the post right above yours? :)
    VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
     
  8. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #8
    Sorry. I missed the post where you said you got it working.
     
  9. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #9
    That was a massive post. You probably posted while he was typing it :eek:
     
  10. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Has anyone tried to downgrade your iPhone 3G recently? I decided I wanted to try 3.0 instead of 3.0.1, and everything went to crap and now I'm on 3.1.2. However, I was on a Mac and tried to use the same method that I used on the PC here, but quickpwn for the Mac didn't work like it does for the PC. I was going to try doing what I did again on a PC instead of a Mac, but noticed that the author of the YouTube video says this no longer works. I'm not sure why it wouldn't. Any ideas as to why or have you actually downgraded?
     
  11. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #11
    Are you on an iPhone 3G or 3GS?
     
  12. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    The 3G.
     
  13. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #13
    Try PwnageTool instead. I've found that it's more robust than QuickPwn. Other than that, I don't know how to go back to 3.0.
     
  14. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #14
    QuickPwn was only to get out of the resulting error 1015 when you downgrade. Would PwnageTool work the same way?

    From research I've done, it seems that it may be because Apple requires signing now, which is why this old method doesn't work. IDK, because it seems to act the same way as before and then gets the 1015 error. My problem was that QuickPwn wouldn't work.
     
  15. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #15
    If you use PwnageTool and do not install Cydia, it will downgrade you and give you no error. All you do is make your custom 3.0 firmware and install it.
     
  16. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #16
    I've never used PwnageTool. This won't jailbreak me, will it?


    Edit: Sorry, I hadn't read your Post #6 in awhile.

    Edit 2: Using PwnageTool looks similar to the method I showed in Post #1. Have you done this recently?
     
  17. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #17
    It will jailbreak your phone, but I usually do this to avoid the error. If you don't install Cydia or SSH, you won't even know it's jailbroken.
     
  18. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #18
    Have you done this recently?
     
  19. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #19
    No.
     
  20. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #20
    I've come to the conclusion that this process doesn't work any more. The original method was for downgrading 3.1. Somehow, 3.1.2 can not be downgraded. I've done it twice and QuickPwn doesn't work. They didn't make one for 3.1.2. I suspect the same issue will occur for TheSpaz's method, since it also relies on QuickPwn, but he used it for earlier versions too. This sucks.

    So, I guess I'm left with jailbreaking to get back my tethering. I've not wanted to do that, since I like having a stable phone. The reports of having to reboot everyday are not something I want until I get my next phone and then this 3G will be my tethering option.
     
  21. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #21
    I jailbreak mine and I don't have to reboot daily. Stick to 3.1.2, jailbreak then use the stealh.ipcc file out there and then run the comm center patch. You'll have tethering again.
     
  22. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #22
    I dont know if you got it all figured out but it seems like you want to downgrade just to tether on your 3G? If so, you could do it on 3.1.3 Jailbroken because that's what I am doing. Just download MyWi (NoRock) from xsellize repo or if your on 3.1.2, download the Tethering for 3G from sinfuliphone repo and BAM you have tethering.
     
  23. -aggie- thread starter macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #23
    Yeah, but I didn't want to mess this phone up, even though I know it probably won't, since I'm not up for an upgrade until August, right after the next gen comes out.

    So, I'll JB using redsn0w to 3.1.2, I guess. I already was using the Stealth.ipcc. So, use iTunes ,run comma center, then option-update to the .ipcc.

    Some have said they inadvertently get updated to 3.1.3 while running redsn0w. How does this happen, since you're not even messing with that firmware?
     
  24. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #24
    Not sure about redsnow, I used blackrain and could not be happier with it's outcome.
     
  25. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #25
    Just JB you iPhone and get the skype app and 3g unristrictor to trick skype into thinking it's on wifi. But I don't know if that's your main goal.
     

Share This Page