Downgraded from 1.1.2 to 1.1.1... Now, how to activate? Thanks!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by abijnk, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    First of all, thanks to all you guys for helping us noobs get this stuff figured out!!!!

    Second of all, I have finally managed to get to where I have downgraded to 1.1.1, and have even managed to jailbreak after that with jailbreakme.com, however I end up with no service. Please bear with my explanation of where I am at and offer any advice you might know of.

    Here is what I am doing. I am starting with a US iPhone purchased in early September, I have no idea what version of the firmware was on it originally, but hopefully that gives you an idea if it is relevant. My end goal is to downgrade to 1.1.1 and jailbreak; I may or may not upgrade with the oktprep technique at a later point in time.

    Here is the process I am using to downgrade (on Windows w/ iTunes 7.4.2):
    First I put the phone in recovery mode (hold power and home, then release power and hook to iTunes) and then restore using the ctrl+shift+restore method. Everything goes through fine ending with error 1015. I then close iTunes and open iPHUC and issue the following commands:
    cmd setenv auto-boot true
    cmd saveenv
    cmd fsboot
    The phone is then kicked our of DFU mode as expected.

    Here is where I get tripped up. While the above process is very well documented, what to do here isn't very clear (from a first timers point of view) Now iTunes wants me to 'restore' from a backup of my phone (not changing the firmware again, but rather setting up my previous settings from a backup) and my phone says connect to iTunes to activate and shows the slide for emergency bar. What do I do now if I want to keep my phone activated with my current AT&T plan?

    I have, in the past times I have tried this, restored to my last sync with iTunes and then waited for my phone to activate, but it never does. Do I need to do the *#307# trick before doing the restore of my settings in iTunes? Again, I am wanting to stay with AT&T because I currently have a plan with them, not unlock the phone from the network.

    Sorry for this being so long and for all the noob posts regarding this. Any help is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    have you done the jailbreak after you do the 307 trick ?
     
  3. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    I have not done the 307 trick at all because I do not know if I should be doing this to stay with AT&T. Should I do the trick and then jailbreak with jailbreakme.com?

    Thanks
     
  4. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Did you get your AT&T plan through iTunes? Or is it seperate from the iPhone?

    If it is, then simply activate with iTunes and visit Jailbreakme.com

    If it isn't then you need to do the dial trick to bypass activation. You don't need to unlock, as it is AT&T, but you do need to bypass activation.
     
  5. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I did not get my plan through iTunes, but added my iPhone to my already existing plan.

    That's just what I needed to know, thanks so much!!

    EDIT: So, I got home and tried again using the 307 trick and still no go. Anyone else have any tips?
     
  6. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #6
    iPHONe activation

    I downgraded ma iphone to 1.1.1 but when its hooked up to itunes it wont activate . yes i am on at&t service and i did activate through itunes when i first got the phone.. what do i do to get it activated
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    iPhone Activation

    I am also in the same debacle. I also have gone through all of that and also wish to STAY with AT&T.

    The dilema I faced is that I didn't know what commands to follow on iPhuc; however, I know now thanks to you, but I may also stay with the same activation issue. Help anyone?




    HP Pavilion Windws XP
    iPhone 8GB
     
  8. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #8
    iPHONe activation

    I have no clue why it does that because i downgraded to 1.0.2 many times and it always activates,, but i think we might just have to find a new 1.1.1 download unless its apple that is not letting you activate on 1.1.1,, well no it cant be apple becaouse the would have done samething to updates below 1.1.1
     
  9. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #9
    I downgraded ma iphone to 1.1.1 but when its hooked up to itunes it wont activate . yes i am on at&t service and i did activate through itunes when i first got the phone.. what do i do to get it activated
     
  10. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    So, to make sure I am understanding you correctly, you CAN downgrade to 1.0.2 straight from 1.1.2 (using the method in my original post) and you got it to activate with AT&T? Because then I could use iNdependence to upgrade to 1.1.1 and jailbreak right?
     
  11. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #11
    I had the same problem I just gave up last night restored and am running a jailed iphone : (.
     
  12. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #12
    yes it did activate when i downgraded from 1.1.2 and ive done it many times,, am not so familiar with the independence but am guesing it would work. i hope it does. im still trinna find away to do it thow. if i find a way all get back to u
     
  13. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    What did you do when you got error code 1? When I try to go from 1.1.2 to 1.0.2 I get that error almost immediately...
     
  14. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #14
    I have AT&T and downgraded to 1.1.1, no service says waiting to activate and one bar. I finally stopped waiting and jailbreaked and updated to 1.1.2. After that the phone started to work. I think the 1.1.2 puts on a baseband firmware that stays the same when you downgrade to 1.1.1 and is not compatible. Just finish with jailbreak and update to 1.1.2 again.
     
  15. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #15
    i installed installer app like the first one that came out. are u just downgrading it or are u doing the hold home buttin and power buttin thing
     
  16. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #16

    You might be right maybe when you update the 1.1.2 they leave something that wont let you activate on 1.1.1 but like i said i downgrade to 1.0.2 all the time and it activates
     
  17. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #17
    iPHONe activation

    I downgraded ma iphone to 1.1.1 but when its hooked up to itunes it wont activate . yes i am on at&t service and i did activate through itunes when i first got the phone.. what do i do to get it activated
     
  18. abijnk thread starter macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    Got It!

    Ok, so thank you to everyone for all your replies, I was able to sort through it all and figured it out. Now that I have done it it is surprisingly easy! How did I do it? I used concieted software's method in windows. Download the file, unzip it, and follow the instructions line for line.

    If you get stuck please feel free to pm me, I would love to help if I can, like a lot of people have helped me on here. Please not though that I did not use iNdependence. I could not get it to pick my phone up at all. I used iPHUC on my windows platform and found it to be extremely easy.

    Happy jailbreaking!!
     
  19. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  20. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    Ok you followed which instructions? The ones on Jailbreakme.com/1.1.2, the ones included with the README file in iPhuc or other ones? If you say other ones please include a URL because I seriously want to downgrade and jailbreak, later unlock my iPhone.
     
  21. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  22. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  23. IphoneKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #23
    can i use this for windows?? if so what do i open it with
     
  24. horsebox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #24
    For those of you looking for iphuc for windows.. you can snag it from here[1].

    I got a brand new iphone today it arrived with 1.1.2 installed. I followed the instructions downgraded to 1.1.1 and sucessfully jailbreaked it. However with 1.1.1 my AT&T service isn't present (its constantly waiting for activation). It activated just fine under 1.1.2... So, I followed the instructions at [2], installed OktoPrep from Tweaks (1.1.1) and updated to 1.1.2 via itunes. When the update completes my AT&T service activates but I'm jailed again! installer.app is gone!... grrrr...

    anyone got any ideas on whats going on here. I'm feeling like I'm very close.

    I'd be happy to stay on 1.1.1 if I could get my AT&T service to activate.

    [1] http://iphone.cricblogs.com/tag/iphuc/
    [2] http://jailbreakme.com/1.1.2/
     
  25. macattack87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Jersey

Share This Page