DVI Switching to one Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by tek210, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. tek210 macrumors regular

    tek210

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #1
    Am thinking of picking up a Mac Mini. I also just got a 24" HD monitor. Also work from home occasionally and I want to use the monitor for that need also. Looking for advice on a switch that will allow me to toggle between the laptop feed and the Mac Mini feed. Would want to have DVI as the input and output.

    Anyone have the base mini and use Final Cut Pro X. I am looking for a video editor above iMovie that I can use to edit my iphone 4 video.
     
  2. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #2
  3. tek210 thread starter macrumors regular

    tek210

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #3
    Appreciate the heads up, but I don't know if the usb outs will fit my need. I have a DVI in on the monitor with DVI (via VGA adapter) out of the laptop and DVI (via HDMI adapter) so it likely has to be 3 DVI connections. Will keep searching.

    ----------

    On the Mac Mini, thinking I might try the 2GB of memory and see how it goes.

    How easy is it to add another 2 gig? Where is a good site to get some good/cheap memory?
     
  4. japtor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    I wouldn't stick with 2GB if you're going to be editing video. 8GB can be had for under under $50 right now, 4GB (to get you to 5GB) for about half that. I got this Kingston set, a lot seem to have the Crucial one (I think it's a little less now), while the Corsair set seems to be a luck of the draw.

    It's easy to upgrade. Spin off the bottom, flip some tabs and pull the existing RAM out, put the new RAM in and spin the bottom back on.
     
  5. tek210 thread starter macrumors regular

    tek210

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #5
    Thanks, for that price I will definitely up the memory to the max 8Gb.
     
  6. BeatCrazy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #6


    I think that particular one does what you need, has two DVI in, one out. Check pictures closer.

    I was in the same boat as you, recently. Went through a few different DVI KVMs but ended up with this one from IOGEAR: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817399100

    Yeah, it was way more than I wanted to spend, but this switch really does work well. It has a function that allows for fast switching, even when one of the computers was turned off. The problem with these <$100 DVI switches is that they don't store the DVI EDID data for your monitor. As a result, when you turn off one of your computers, it can never reconnect to the monitor. Very frustrating.
     
  7. tek210 thread starter macrumors regular

    tek210

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #7
    Yeah I think you are right. I missed the last photos. Thanks for the heads up and the original tip.
     

Share This Page