Economy continues to show signs of improvement

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by mcrain, May 7, 2010.

1. mcrain macrumors 68000

mcrain

http://www.forbes.com/2010/05/07/un...-consumer.html?boxes=marketschannelbrieflink2

It looks like the economy is continuing to slowly improve. I'm not an expert, but it looks like a lot of people must be entering the job market again. Otherwise, I'm not sure why the unemploymen rate would go up.

It's nice to have a little good news every once in a while.

2. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

Zombie Acorn

Debbie Downer: 66,000 of those jobs are temporary census workers, half of that 3.2% GDP growth was for inventory adjustments, if our unemployment numbers are on the rise because people are suddenly trying to find a job then there is something terribly wrong with our unemployment statistics (namely that we don't count disgruntled job hunters).

3. mcrain thread starter macrumors 68000

mcrain

Cite. You're using last month's arguments.

4. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

How long before Rush declares that these gains are the result of the policies of George W. Bush?

That makes what, three months in a row of job growth? Good to see finally. But considering we've lost 8+ million jobs, and that we need somewhere in the neighborhood of 110,000 new jobs created each month just to keep pace with the increase in size of the labor force, we're still in for a looooong jobs recovery.

As a reminder...

Attached Files:

5. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

Zombie Acorn

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Jobs-up-290000-jobless-rate-apf-560235210.html?x=0&.v=6

May 7

More confident employers stepped up job creation in April, expanding payrolls by 290,000, the most in four years. The jobless rate rose to 9.9 percent as people streamed back into the market looking for work.

The hiring of 66,000 temporary government workers to conduct the census helped overall payroll growth last month.

GDP growth: