Edit: Tried Lion on Macbook Air = Lots of Lag

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by klaxamazoo, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. klaxamazoo, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    klaxamazoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #1
    I stopped by the Apple store today to pick up a repaired computer and test drive Lion on the new Macbook Air.

    There is a LOT of animation lag with Mission Control with these laptops. This wasn't just a little lag, like I saw on the 15" Macbook Pro, but rather a huge amount of lag. Trying to drag a window from one desktop to another had a 2-3 second delay.

    Overall, Mission Control and even Application Expose do not work at all on the new 13" Macbook Air. Animation is very, very jerky or is missing all together. The 13" comes with 4GB of RAM on all models, so RAM is not the problem.

    I would recommend that you try one out in the store before you buy it to make sure it works for you.



    edit: Actually, I didn't confirm that I was using the new Macbook Air. Hopefully I was using an old Macbook Air.
     
  2. Davieis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    #2
    Happy I didn't sell my Air for this refresh :)

    Must be the decreased performance of the Intel graphics causing it.
     
  3. bk123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    #3
    are you 10000%% sure they had SB processor? maybe u saw a core 2 duo :)
     
  4. El3ctronics macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
  5. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #5
    Yup, must be.
     
  6. klaxamazoo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #6
    You know what, I did not verify that it was the new Macbook Air. The conversations I heard made it seem like it was, but for all I know they had only updated the operating system. All the price tags/displays were removed and they said that they did not have any for sale yet.

    Hopefully I was looking at the old Macbook Air.

    I'll edit the title to keep from misleading anybody
     
  7. Oppressed macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #7
    Might want to triple check if it was the new model. The new models go one sale in store tomorrow.
     
  8. Davieis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    #8
    I'm running Lion on the C2D 320M 13" and the animations are fine.
     
  9. ess5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #9
    Oh, absolutely. :rolleyes:
     
  10. UCF Sam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    #10
    That would be even more concerning that the air is less powerful in the graphics department.
     
  11. jeffg819 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    #11
    Lion on my 2010 13" MBA works great. No lags seen yet. Actually, dare I say this, Safari is snappier!
     
  12. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #12
    This is interesting. I doubt this would be CPU related. Maybe the GPU can't handle it or the APIs haven't been optimised for the hardware.
     
  13. pgiguere1 macrumors 68020

    pgiguere1

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #13
    Aren't the new MBA's supposed to arrive in stores tomorrow only?

    Unless, they got a first shipment with demos only, they're probably 2010 models since they wouldn't leave their MBA table empty for a full day just because new ones were announced.
     
  14. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #14
    Neither the 2010 or 2011 MBA has laggy animations or unusable Mission Control. Either the display model you failed to identify had a problem (or a backgrounded process eating up the system ressources, did you even check Activity Monitor ?) or you're outright just lying and causing panic for the fun of it.
     
  15. solowmodel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
  16. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    I had the 1.4 MacBook air but with 4gb and lion was as smooth as butter for me. Just sold it to pay for my 2011 version.
     
  17. meaty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #17
    you remember if it had a backlit keyboard?
     
  18. axu539 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    #18
    There's no need to be so harsh. I'm sure either the OP made an honest mistake, or there is another problem at hand. Either way, we really can't disprove OP until more consumers actually get some of these machines in hand.
     
  19. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #19
    The Air's in the NYC Apple 5th Ave store were the older 2010 Air's running Lion as of this morning.
     
  20. cadillac1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #20
    Spotlight is re-indexing everything after the Lion install so expect a bit of lag until it's done updating
     
  21. KnightWRX macrumors Pentium

    KnightWRX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #21
    That's false. We can disprove the OP. Someone already did in this thread for the 2010 model and I'm sure we'd have heard something from the 13" MBP owners if Lion was unusable.

    I did state in my post that the display model he used could have had a problem and he'd known if he had checked Activity Monitor. There was nothing harsh there, those are really the only 2 options here. Either we're dealing with someone out to bait a few replies and have fun or someone who didn't bother to check what was going on at all.
     
  22. ghsNick macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #22
    Those weren't the new Airs on Display...checked the same thing and they had the old Airs (with Lion) on Display...I do miss 3 finger dwiping back and forward on web pages though :(
     
  23. ritmomundo macrumors 68000

    ritmomundo

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #23
    They're still there, just change it from 2 finger to 3 fingers in the additional gestures panel, and they'll work again.
     
  24. malikk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #24
    Do any of you air owners who have lion have an increased fan performance? Mine are running loudly with lion. Anybody else?
     
  25. dermaze, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011

    dermaze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #25
    constant fan noise

    yep, unfortunately I can confirm that (MBA 2010 13" 1,86 4GB on Lion). Fans are really bugging me out. Some said that this is due to 32-Bit Plugins/Browser extensions...

    On SL I was quite fond of CoolBook - but that doesn't work with Lion as of now... waiting for an update

    EDIT: apparently, the heavy indexing and the new 10GB Time Machine Backup drew a lot of Power. Still more fan noise than before.
     

Share This Page