Editing 4k with Final Cut Pro - TB MBP Radeon 455, 2.7Ghz Review

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nptech, Jan 8, 2017.

  1. nptech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    #1
    Hiya guys and gals.

    I made a video talking about my time with final cut pro on the 15" 2.7ghz pre configured MBP.

    Feel free to discuss below and any questions do ask, not sure how much longer i'll have the macbook for!

     
  2. Rasta4i macrumors member

    Rasta4i

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Great video, this is something that I'm looking to get into but I was worried by some reviews saying that the 15 inch struggled with 4k contain and only did short 4k contain easily. I think i need to do some more research on the topic. Does the GPU make more of a difference than the CPU with final cut pro
     
  3. nptech thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    #3
    Thank you! Even though I managed to get it all done in a day (cheating it's 3am now) it was a lot of work.. and money lol

    The 15" handles 4k like a boss. Projects under 10 minutes with no optimized files are great, with 40 minutes of footage below 30 minutes of b-roll, scrubbing through was also silky smooth. Trimming footage started to get a bit slow though.

    The main hiccup I found was when I was adding in titles. That really slowed the machine down. The gpu will make a difference for any kind of motions effects, the cpu helps with render times, ssd helps with reading and writing the footage, so scrubbbing. I'm not sure what will effect trimming and cutting though, perhaps someone more knowledgeable can answer?
     
  4. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
  5. redfuse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    #5
    Seconded: Which camera did the 4k clips come from? What were the codec settings?
     
  6. nptech thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    #6
    All of this was shot on a Panasonic GH4 -.mov files, i'm assuming that it would be H264?
     
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #7
    After the initial decoding FCP will use a cache for video playback and rendering anyway.
     
  8. redfuse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    #8
    Yes, but if you have limited disk space (which you are likely to have on the base mbp models, unless you work with external drives), it can be a storage-saver (not to mention time-saver) to turn off optimization and/or proxy. It's great to see that the mbp is able to edit 4k h.264 natively without transcoding.
     

Share This Page