Carrier EE in the UK (crap)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ggt, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. ggt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Today I came across this article and thought I would share it in the hope you guys might retweet it if you are having similar problems with EE http://gu.com/p/3hy8f

    I've been having signal problems with my iPhone 5 since September (I bought the iPhone 5 and switched from O2 to T-Mobile/EE) At first I thought it was the phone but a few of my friends and family have the same problems with EE with iPhone 5 and different makes of phone.

    I lose signal in areas I know I should have good signal, toggling Airplane mode brings back the signal.

    After getting in touch with EE they said it's not a problem with the network and go see Apple.

    Apple replaced my phone yesterday :) They said it's an EE problem that they see lots of, but for peace of mind they would swap it.

    Does anyone else on the forums have this or similar problem? I'm no expert but it seems like the phones don't know what to do when switching from T-mobile to Orange to EE antenna to try and get the strongest signal.

    Hopefully now with the press getting hold of the issue something will be done. I'm seriously considering switching to 3.
     
  2. bbfc, Aug 4, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2013

    bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #2
    EE's 4G network is notoriously bad. Yes it's still quite new, but it just doesn't live up to the hype or expectations, plus it's just ridiculously expensive and their included data limits are laughable.

    You can better data speeds on 3 with HSPA+/DC-HSDPA on the iPhone 5. Plus once 3 launch their LTE network they are upgrading customers to it for free, with the same tariffs available now. The biggest reason for switching to 3 is their (truly) unlimited data.
     
  3. bollyboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester - UK
    #3
    Hi

    I'm with EE in Manchester and have been plagued with signal issues.

    When i have a signal 3 or 4G is great, but the phone randomly looses a
    the signal.
    I often received SMS notifications of missed calls and people tell me it's always on answerphone (no signal)

    We have 3 iPhone5's in the house and the other two are with 02 and there fine, if you do phone EE they will just tell you to reset phone, reset network settings, etc

    I'll be looking to change provider when out of contract in the next few months.
     
  4. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #4
    I'm with O2 in the West Midlands and tried a EE sim when I got my iPhone 5. The phone signal was awful.
    Despite all the awesome things you can do with an iPhone, it's primary role is to be a phone. If I can't be contacted at all times, then it's no good to me.
    As I always buy my phone outright, I can switch whenever I need to.
     
  5. stormchaser macrumors 6502

    stormchaser

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I have the same problem on the south coast. My old 3GS used to be on 4 or 5 bars here but my 5 is always 1 or 2. Apple replaced my phone but its still the same. Where I work I have no signal at all but at home it's on 3 bars.
    So is it the phone or EE?
     
  6. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #6
    Agreed about 3. Their data coverage is second to none. EE's data tariffs are an embarrassment and I hope people vote with their feet when it's no longer a monopoly service.
     
  7. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #7
    I pay £28 p/m for unlimited data on 3. EE offer unlimited calls and texts on all their tariffs (not very useful on a network built for data!) but their included data is shocking. Apparently £46 for 10GB is their best value tariff! It's a joke!
     
  8. sparky1499 macrumors regular

    sparky1499

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #8
    EE are a waste of time. I was with them for around 8=10 years and they've been ripping me off for that time too.

    I'm winding my contract down with EE at the moment as I took an iPhone 5 last month on Three. I only wish I'd done it sooner. 24 meg down on HSPA+ here in Glasgow :D
     
  9. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    T-Mobile is trash, even in Europe? Why am I not shocked? :rolleyes:
     
  10. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #10
    I've switched from O2 to three recently, hesitantly.

    But I should have done it earlier.

    My wife is still on O2 and having just travelled around most of the south coast and inland Devon and Cornwall I never failed to have a decent 3G signal and speeds were always above 4Mbps but usually between 10-20Mbps.

    My wife's O2 didn't have 3G in a few popular towns and rarely 3G driving between locations.

    We actually drove back to east Devon from padstow and stupidly followed the satnav which took us on the most ridiculous b-road. It was overgrown but even in these remote areas I had decent 3G signal.

    So I can't fault coverage, can't fault speeds and 3 doesn't seem to suffer any lost signal problems either.

    There is only 1 place I failed to get a service which is a known black spot near me. I'm looking forward to LTE.

    I would defiantly recommend you get a three Payg to try if you are fed up with EE. Remember EE and three share a lot of masts but maybe this signal problem is unique to EE equipment.
     
  11. Tsuchiya macrumors 68020

    Tsuchiya

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #11
    EE can go **** themselves.

    Their contract prices are a joke when one considers how bad the signal is.

    Customer service is also really ineffective. I ended up returning my handset within the two week window and they tried charging me £400 afterwards. After about a month of calling I finally got that charge reversed. The £200 I paid for the handset is nowhere in sight though. Each time I called they assured me the issue would be sorted, and then a week later I got another bill.

    Seriously. EE can go **** themselves.
     
  12. The-Real-Deal82 macrumors 601

    The-Real-Deal82

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    I moved from EE to O2 because it was so bad. I was a long time T Mobile customer and enjoyed the shared Orange network coverage, but things went downhill when they formed EE. It was very early on in their transformation but at the end of the day I was paying for a contract and didn't wish to experience teething problems when paying full price. Its bad to hear they are still one of the most complained about networks.
     
  13. tann macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham, England
    #13
    I'm on EE (Through Orange) and switched from O2 last year.

    I used to get the same signal issues with you, where my phone would show GREAT signal, and 3G/Data but ZERO data would actually load. Toggling flight mode off/on usually helps, but even then sometimes it doesn't.

    It hasn't been bad for the last couple of weeks though, so maybe it's fixed.

    The thing is it has happened to my friend on his iPhone 5 (on the Three network) so I wasn't sure if it was restricted to EE or the iPhone 5.

    When it happens it's usually during a really important day when I need my data (e.g. in a new city or traveling). Touchwood it's ok from now on, it's been a while since the switch.
     
  14. sparky1499 macrumors regular

    sparky1499

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #14
    I think the contention ratio on EE is pish.

    That may be the cause.
     

Share This Page