Electronics being banned from some African and Middle Eastern flights

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by MadeTheSwitch, Mar 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MadeTheSwitch macrumors 6502a

MadeTheSwitch

Breaking news:

It seems that there is some new policy being put into place where anything other than a cellphone has to be checked. I'm not sure why or how that changes anything from a security perspective as I am fairly confident that things can be done with cell phones too, not just iPads.

I'd have a problem with this as I would want to read things on a tablet on a flight.

http://www.theverge.com/2017/3/20/14986452/royal-jordanian-airlines-electronics-ban-dhs-faa

2. The-Real-Deal82 macrumors 603

The-Real-Deal82

On a flight to Amsterdam recently I was told that my laptop was suspicious because it was heavy and there were too many fans in it. I had to explain I was a Design Engineer and it's a high spec machine (£4000). The guy then managed to drop the bloody thing off the table and onto a hard floor! It only keeps a charge for about 30 minutes now and I had a brief experience of being treated like a terrorist.

3. yaxomoxay macrumors 68020

yaxomoxay

Unfortunately the article doesn't make clear if it is an initiative by the airline company or if it's a demand by DHS.

4. MadeTheSwitch thread starter macrumors 6502a

MadeTheSwitch

This seems like it is coming on behalf of the U.S. government:

http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/wireStory/electronics-banned-us-bound-flights-46261625

5. yaxomoxay macrumors 68020

yaxomoxay

6. MadeTheSwitch thread starter macrumors 6502a

MadeTheSwitch

It does, but then it seems weird that if it's some sort of a safety issue how it can wait until tomorrow and was considered for several weeks.

7. Zenithal macrumors 603

Medical devices? Hearing aids and insulin pumps?