Enable HD YouTube video playback over 3G on iOS 5 without jailbreak

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tinymille, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. tinymille macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #1
  2. tinymille thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #2
    no one's tried this? I tried the android-like autocorrect but i didnt know how to get it working, but i personally havent done this one yet. Wondering if it worked for anything though
     
  3. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Very nice find! I am going to try this as soon as I get home from work!:D
     
  4. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #4
    I just use m.youtube.com and select HQ before watching the video.

    The website layout on both the iphone and iPad is better than the native app.

    Tip; add a link to m.youtube.com to your homescreen.

    Now go to settings and restrictions, and restrict Youtube then you only have one 'YouTube app' on your homescreen and you can watch HD youtube on 3G.

    Not meaning to highjack the thread... The OP does offer a very good tip, but if your not wanting to start changing code etc, then my method may work for you.
     
  5. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    ^ Both very nice work arounds. Personally, I use the YT app more than the mobile website (even if it IS worse than mobile) so I was super excited to see this as i'm not ALWAYS around WiFi.
     
  6. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    probably going to do this, does it drain less battery?
     
  7. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    This.

    Why spend any time trying to make the app act more like the website? I can just use the website.
     
  8. TL24 macrumors 6502a

    TL24

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #8
    I must be missing something here but um.... Where is the damn YouTube app settings?
     
  9. tinymille thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #9
    oh nice i didnt know the mobile site played hq, im gonna try both.

    But if anyone is trying the panorama and autocorrect bar, might as well try this one too and just reboot all at the same time. But this mobile way sounds good i didnt know about that one
     
  10. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
    i can't get it to work, I've followed the directions perfectly from many websites but can't get it to work. anyone else try?
     
  11. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    I have followed the steps, but cannot find settings to enable this? I have searched quite a bit and still nothing...
     
  12. tinymille thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #12
    Yeah thats the thing im stuck on, did you guys notice any difference in video playback quality?
     
  13. aDRock1154 macrumors 65816

    aDRock1154

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #13
    No change in quality yet as I can't find the settings lol
     
  14. big samm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #14
    I was gonna try but got stuck on restore and update... I don't want to update to 5.0.1... I don't think the setting will appear after entering the codes... I think you will just get hd video on 3G regardless if the setting is there or not... If you don't see a difference between wifi and 3G that means it works! But you can clearly see the difference when on wifi or 3G
     
  15. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  16. tinymille thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #16
    i sent a message to the hacker who found it but havent gotten anything back yet, but alot of sites have vouched for it so idk
     
  17. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #17
    you don't have to update to 5.0.1 you just restore the backup from within iBackupbot, it will reboot and your done
     
  18. jrodsep macrumors 6502

    jrodsep

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #18
    It doesn't work. The supposed YouTube menu doesn't appear anywhere. Gonna wait to see if this is method is better explained and hoping that it works.
     
  19. tinymille thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #19
    did anyone do one of the other two tweaks and get a settings menu?
     

Share This Page