EU: How-To: Uncap the volume limit on european iPod Touch models

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by skoops, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. skoops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #1
    What you need:

    - iPod Touch with Jailbreak "applied"
    - a program to edit .plist files (macs come with one or you can use textwrangler)
    - Cyberduck (or any other SFTP program)

    What to do:

    1. Connect to your iPod touch via SFTP
    2. copy the following file over to your desktop: /System/Library/Frameworks/Celestial.framework/RegionalVolumeLimits.plist
    3. You should see a lot of keys (F, Z, ZD, etc...) with a value of 0.82999999 (or 0.83)
    4. Change the value of all keys to "1"
    5. Save the file
    6. Upload to the original file location on your iPod
    7. Power off the iPod (using the red slider) and turn it back on.
    8. Enjoy loud music.:D
     
  2. db2431 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #2
    superb,do you know if anything like this exists for the 3g nano yet?
     
  3. skoops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #3
    unfortunately NO :mad:
     
  4. skoops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #4
    For WINDOWS users: you can use THIS website: http://140.124.181.188/~khchung/cgi-bin/plutil.cgi to convert the binary .plist file into a human readable ascii file. When you're done editing, you can simply upload the ascii .plist file to the ipod touch. It "understands" both formats.:cool:
     
  5. tuenn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #5
    THANKS!
    Gonna try this now.

    Edit: Works! Thank you very very much. Its really loud now :>
     
  6. Evangelion macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #6
    While I don't really care if you ruin your hearing, please spare other people from your music. I find it really annoying when someone on the commuter-train listens to his headphones so loud that entire traincar can hear it..
     
  7. sammyAD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    England
  8. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  9. Gerard. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #9
    Wow didnt know this! Thanks for the info dude, going to be really useful when i get my touch.
     
  10. leckie macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #10
    Jesus, why would you want to do this my iPod is already unbelievably loud with my earphones in.
     
  11. skoops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    #11
    Ever tried using an EUROPEAN iPod (which has a volume limit) with non-standard-apple headphones?
     
  12. db2431 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #12
    I thought that but at previous level it doesnt drown out traffic while out, now it does ;)
     
  13. ebony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #13
    thanks, much appreciated, helps having that extra volume when traveling on planes.
     
  14. Evangelion macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    #14
    all the time. It has more than enough volume. Anyone wanting more is just begging for hearing-loss
     
  15. Bensch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #15
    iPhone?

    does this work with iPhone too?

    Bensch
     
  16. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #16
    I have a European iPT. At low volumes (less than 50%) with in-ear type phones it comfortably drowns out traffic. If you need to push the volume beyond the current limit then either your phones leak too much or your rips are poor with very low volumes set. Either change your phones or tweak your rips with something like mp3trimmer.

    You WILL damage your hearing. Guaranteed.
     
  17. willed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #17
    Thanks for the thought...! But there are other uses for this than just losing your hearing. Sure if you listen to the top 40 all day then you probably don't need the limit taken off, but try listening to anything classical in a public space with a European iPod - it's often impossible because sections are simply too quiet.
     
  18. cartel1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire, UK
    #18
    I applied this fix a while ago after I jailbroke my ipod touch and it certainly makes a difference. I also found that after I re-applied the jailbreak (didn't get on with 1.1.3 and took it back to 1.1.2) the volume limit had to be fixed again.

    Now I'm wondering that when V2.0 and the SDK arrive, how can I upgrade and keep the volume from being limited as this must be in the firmware somewhere. Does anyone know if it's possible to upgrade the firmware to that of another region, i.e. instead upgrading to the UK/Europe firmware, upgrade to the US firmware where volume is not limited.

    Is this be determined by the local itunes store that you're hooked up with or is the ipod touch's hardware region specific?
     
  19. delude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    There's always this from Touchmods:

     

Share This Page