Evaga GTX 1060 giving me rubbish performance is OSX but great performance in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Fab_o12, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. Fab_o12 macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #1
    Hello all,
    I am running a mac pro 5,1 2009
    It has 2x 3.46 ghz processors and 32 gb ddr3 RAM and a Evaga GTX 1060 6gb.
    I am getting fantastic frames and performance when i boot into windows 7 via Bootcamp but when I am in mac os and using programmes like final cut pro x I get very bad sluggish performance and in benchmarking my results in cinebench are 53fps on mac os and 85fps on Windows 7 why is this happening? and also the fans don't spin in mac os and i can only get them to spin in windows if a launch the evaga program that overclocks and controls temperatures.
    Does anyone know why I am encountering these problems?
    Thanks
     
  2. bsbeamer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #2
    are you using NVIDIA web drivers? what version?
    what OS version?
    APFS or HFS+ formatted system drive?
    any other GPUs in system?
    what slot is it connected to?
     
  3. Fab_o12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #3
    Yes I am using Nvidia web drivers and I'm on Sierra 10.12.6
    It is the only GPU in the system and its connected into the 16x pcie slot (bottom one) and it is powered from the two mini 6pin power connectors from the motherboard that are converted to an 8pin power connected.

    Im not sure what my what drive is formatted but its two 480gb ssds in raid 0 and windows in on a 1tb hdd but my ssds are probaby APFS not sure though they are osx journalated if that helps.
    Thanks
     
  4. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #4
    Metal and OpenCL which macOS relies a lot on, both run way better on AMD. An RX 580 can outperform a GTX 1080 Ti in macOS.
    Maybe Nvidia's web drivers will improve their perfomance in macOS over time, but as a rule of thumb, if your primary use is macOS, get AMD
     
  5. Fab_o12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #5
    so if i swithc cards to an rx 580 will it still game as well as the 1060 in windows?
     
  6. bsbeamer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #6
    Upgrading OS to 10.13.4 (17E199) with NVIDIA web driver 387.10.10.10.30.103 may be the best place to start troubleshooting. Generally speaking, I find the 10XX series GPUs perform best with the latest web driver.

    Important note: Non-standard GPUs or GPUs that have been modified MAY have issues with the web driver on the Mac side.

    Using a GPU that is most compatible with the NVIDIA web driver is the best suggestion. These are easily ID'd as Founders Editions cards directly sold by NVIDIA, but there are reference models from manufacturers. Look for the NVIDIA logo on the board itself near the PCIe pins/connection. If it's been replaced with manufacturer's logo, it likely was modified in SOME fashion.

    Does it mean the NVIDIA web drivers will not work? No, and many cards do work with the web drivers. But if you're looking for peak performance and compatibility on the Mac side, this is something to pay attention to.
     
  7. Fab_o12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #7
    O
    kay ill upgrade my system to high sierra and then run some bench tests.
    Thanks
     
  8. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #8
    I don't think you're going to get anywhere near windows performance in OSX, though probably depends on the title you're running.

    I run a 1060-egpu on my laptop (rmb 2014), and for Civ6 I think the frame rate is at least double on windows. Recently I swapped with a RX-570 since 10.13.4 handles the AMD cards better - my hope was under OSX it might be faster than the 1060, but in practice I had to drop my resolution even further to get a usable FPS.

    On my mac pro I have a 1070, which gives it a bit more oomph, but its still faster under Windows. Never tried running a recent AMD card there, but I expect the same disappointment if I did.


    Pretty much every cross-platform game I tried is much faster in windows -- Borderlands, XCOM, etc. So gaming for me in OSX is convenience. But maybe i'm just running the wrong games...?
     
  9. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #9
  10. Fab_o12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #10
    I just used cinebench as an example but i get 300 - 400 pfs on csgo and 150 -200 on fortnight on mac os i cant run either of t he games both get under 30 fps it is quite clear that there is a performance drop
    thanks
     
  11. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #11
    Most Windows games prefer Nvidia cards. DirectX 12 titles usually give AMD the edge, but DX11 titles usually give Nvidia the edge. So it's a bit of a toss-up depending on the title.

    There's a lot of different things to consider. In general, yes, Windows performs better with games. There are exceptions though. And varying degrees of differences. As a rule of thumb, the higher the resolution, the smaller the difference. For me, XCOM actually runs a bit better on macOS (oddly), and in general, it's been found that the F1 racing game performs better on macOS (at least at higher resolutions). Most other games that I've tested or read about work better on Windows, but how much the difference is varies greatly. I've seen anything from 5% to 500%.
     
  12. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #12
    What OS and driver version are you using on macOS? It's expected that Windows will be faster than macOS, but sub-30 FPS suggests there's something fundamentally wrong with your system. If you aren't on 10.13.4 with the latest NVIDIA driver, that will be the first place to start.
     
  13. Fab_o12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #13
    Also, anyone knows why my fans aren't spinning in either mac osx or windows 7. I can only get them to spin when i launch Evaga Procession oc or something like that.
    Thanks
     
  14. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #14

    Well, have you kept an eye on the temperatures? Maybe it's just not necessary.
     
  15. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #15
    Exactly right, the Pascal GPUs are very efficient and don't need to run the fans when the GPU is idle.
     
  16. Fab_o12 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Fab_o12

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    #16
    Oka
    y thank you for that information i shall do some testing
    --- Post Merged, Apr 18, 2018 ---
    Okay so i
    downloaded high sierra but i cant install it on my ssd raid see picture enclosed for further details. Anyone know how to bypass this or is there no way round?
    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Apr 18, 2018 ---
     

    Attached Files:

  17. bsbeamer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #17
    I would NOT recommend a workaround to install directly onto a RAID. The High Sierra install will want to reformat ("upgrade") your SSD format to APFS. There's a script to prevent that, BUT here's what I would recommend:

    Clone your system drive to a SINGLE drive and put that in SATA bay #1 (Carbon Copy Cloner).
    Then update macOS to High Sierra.
    Then you can clone your system drive back to single SSD -OR- setup SSDs as a new RAID set in High Sierra, then clone system drive to RAID.

    Few steps for a workaround, but should work.
     
  18. casperes1996 macrumors 68030

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #18

    I've not myself tried, but I've heard a lot of people talking about HS not being bootable on RAIDs
     
  19. bsbeamer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #19
    I'd personally avoid a bootable RAID in MacPro moving forward unless it is hardware based and displays to OS as a single native drive. Even then, make sure you have backup(s).
     
  20. devynbrew macrumors newbie

    devynbrew

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #20
    I am running Mac Pro 5,1 2010 Dual CPUs with 1070 EVGA. All problems with sluggishness just got fixed this morning with 387.10.10.10.30.106 web driver update. Excited to see how this resolves problems with Adobe Premiere Pro...
     
  21. bsbeamer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #21
    What problems with PPro are you running into? What renderer are you using?
    Has been smooth most of the day with CC2018 (12.1.0 build 186) using OpenCL or CUDA renderer on 5,1 with GTX 1080 FE, dual 3.46 and 128GB RAM using the .106 web driver.
     
  22. cccyyyccc, Apr 21, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2018

    cccyyyccc macrumors newbie

    cccyyyccc

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Location:
    taiwan
    #22
    anyone still following this thread? i'm thinking to pick up a nVidia GTX 1060 for my old mac pro 5.1 as well.
    but worried that there will be no nVidia driver to support it.
    two question,
    my mac is on El Capitan 10.11.6, Mac Pro 5.1 (2010) 6 core 3.33Ghz
    for now, nVidia seems only have drivers for their 10 series on Sierra or later OS X?
    if I don't want to upgrade my OS, is there any other nVidia option for me, later ones that support El Capitan? i think Sierra is fine but i heard High Sierra is problematic.
    Or is there other AMD graphic card would also work great on this machine?

    i'm using it only for video editing with Primiere and after effects, sometime use MAYA or sketch up.
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #23
    1060 won't work, but a 970 will do.
     
  24. Melbourne Park macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #24
    I have a similar Mac (bought new too). If I put a founder 1070 in it, will the mac boot up normally? Is there a thread to advise which card is best for a 5.1 and how to install it and start everything up ?
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #25

Share This Page