External Samsung Monitor marked as TV?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MG2211, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. MG2211 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    #1
    Hi,

    I searched for a while now but no method is really working to get my external Monitor (SAMSUNG C27F390 curved) working correctly. I connected it with the Apple Thunderbolt to HDMI/USB/Thunderbolt Adapter but the text is some kind of blurry and not as readable as on my Macbook itself.
    After reading this thread: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/macbook-pro-external-monitor-blurry-text.2032453/
    I found out my Monitor is recognised as TV because the available Options are 1080p and 720p and 1600x900.
    Is there a way to fix this?
     
  2. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    The native resolution of that monitor is 1080p, and with 27” it’s pixel density is much lower than your laptop. No wonder it’s blurry compared to the laptop screen, it’s just not the same thing. If you want to get comparable image quality you need to look at 4K monitors (and even of those few match the color fidelity and quality of the MBP)
     
  3. MG2211 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    #3
    Okay thank you, you got a monitor suggestion?
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #4
    OP:

    See this page:
    http://www.ireckon.net/2013/03/forc...ix-the-picture-quality-of-an-external-monitor

    My step-by-step instructions to "force" the OS to "see the display" as a "display", and NOT "as a tv":
    =======
    Download the file "patch-edid.rb" from here:
    http://embdev.net/topic/284710#3027030
    (download link at post in above URL)

    Put the "patch-edid.rb" file into the downloads folder.

    Launch terminal

    Type : cd ~/Downloads

    Type : ruby patch-edid.rb

    Normally, a new folder appear on the Downloads folder with a name similar to (but may not be exactly the same) "DisplayVendorID-5a63"

    Move this folder to
    /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides
    (the system will ask for the password)

    Reboot
     

Share This Page