F1, F2, F3 and F4 keys are no longer responding, what did I do?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by callliope, May 1, 2011.

  1. callliope macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #1
    So here I was, happily using my macbook that I've had for 3 years now with nary a problem, and everything was working as normal. Then it's possible that I hit some combination of keys unintentionally in trying to hit Command+T to open a new tab? I'm not sure. But the next time I went to hit F3 to use the Expose function, it didn't respond. Neither did F4 to open dashboard, and same with F1 and F2. Did I do something? Did they just spontaneously stop working? Am I missing something obvious?

    Thank you for any help you can offer!
    -Rachel
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. callliope thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #3
    Hmm, I just checked that, doesn't seem to be the answer... any other thoughts?
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    It needs to be unticked if you want Expose etc.
     
  5. callliope thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #5
    Yeah, I did that, and it had already been unchecked. They're still not working even with that unchecked.
     
  6. callliope thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #6
    Oh, ha! Yeah, in the first post when I said I checked that, I meant that I looked at it and verified that it was unchecked!
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand

Share This Page