Facebook on Safari 6.1.6 on OSX 10.7.5 now auto switchers to mobile version...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by adammusic, Mar 8, 2017.

  1. adammusic macrumors 6502

    adammusic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #1
    Anyone else experiencing this?
    This is how Twitter has been for years, but now it looks like Facebook does it too.
    Both auto change to mobile version.
     
  2. camardelle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It just started for me today. Not crazy about it.
     
  3. adammusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    adammusic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    terrible.
    now i have to switch to chrome until i get a new laptop.
     
  4. Jerome Rehioui, Mar 10, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017

    Jerome Rehioui macrumors newbie

    Jerome Rehioui

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    #4
    Hi guys, had the same issue… But I found a solution:

    - Quit Safari.
    - Type "Terminal" in spotlight or go to Applications, then utilities, then "Terminal"
    - When Terminal open, copy-paste this:

    defaults write com.apple.Safari CustomUserAgent "\"Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_9_0) AppleWebKit/537.78.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0 Safari/537.78.2\""

    Type the return key on your keyboard.

    Safari will now say to Facebook and others sites that you're using a more recent version of Safari (Safari 7.0) And Facebook will be back to normal :) :) :)
     
  5. adammusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    adammusic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #5
    this will make the user agent mode safari 7.0 permanent?
     
  6. Jerome Rehioui macrumors newbie

    Jerome Rehioui

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    #6
    Yes ! ;)
     
  7. adammusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    adammusic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #7
    Worked. Thanks !! and Twitter works too. Awesome !!
    --- Post Merged, Mar 10, 2017 ---
    Do what Jerome just suggested. Worked for me !
     
  8. mimbrava macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    metro Atlanta
    #8
    I am totally unfamiliar with codes. If I do what Jerome suggests, what possible problems elsewhere could it cause? And if it causes any problems, how would I revert to the current set-up and just deal with mobile Facebook until I finally MUST buy a new computer so I can get a newer OS?
     
  9. adammusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    adammusic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #9
    No problems for me so far. I dont know how to revert back yet. Maybe just clicking "Reset Safari" will work.

    Facebook mobile on desktop is un-dealable for me haha

    Its pretty easy to do if you follow his instructions step by step.
     
  10. BettBee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #10
    :) Thanks SO much for posting this fix. It was driving me crazy, but this did the trick. :)

    -- BB

     
  11. adammusic thread starter macrumors 6502

    adammusic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #11
    Yeah it works but definitely breaks some other sites for me.
     

Share This Page