Facetime ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Che Castro, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #1
    A few questions

    Do you guys have problems hearing the other person and vice versa sometimes ?

    I was over 3G maybe that was the problem


    Also is there a way to make it so is not such a big close up to your face ,without holding the phone farther away from you
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    I used Facetime yesterday and had no problems at all.

    You cannot use it on 3G (unless you JB, I think). Otherwise it's WiFi only. Also there is no way to adjust the size, except by moving it closer or further away from you.
     
  3. Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #3
    Yea i use facetime over 3g with 3gunrestrictor

    That right there is a good enough reason to jailbreak
     
  4. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

    eclipse01

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    #4
    My facetime/speakerphone (skype works fine for some reason), stopped working months ago, not sure why.

    other user claims I sound like I am under water:confused:
     
  5. sfxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    I would guess that's the issue, there has to be a reason why Apple does not allow people to use it without Wi-Fi, performance on 3G must be too poor and they don't want to hear the complaints.
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    That's precisely your problem in all likelihood. Something in the JB broke it's performance.
     
  7. Tea-Aholic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    You were on a slow 3G connection, therefore you may have had problems with hearing the other person.

    No, the front facing camera has a fixed focal length, therefore it is not possible to "zoom out".
     
  8. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #8
    There is no focus/zoom on the camera, so what you see is what you get.

    By the way, there is no extra charge to and more descriptive words to your thread title.
     
  9. iceterminal macrumors 68000

    iceterminal

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Tx.
    #9
    Like practically any video & audio stream over the internet, the quality of such will degrade when the quality of your connection goes south. Better connection (aka wifi), better quality.
    3G connection=possible but not as good as broadband.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    My facetime works fine over 3G.
    I had a few facetime calls yesterday over 3G and didnt skip or freeze at all.
    But again it depends on your connection, my AT&T 3G speeds both upload and download are very good where I live.
     
  11. iceterminal macrumors 68000

    iceterminal

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Tx.
    #11
    Yes, but you don't count. Haven't we had this conversation before? Now back in your cage.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Lmao:D
    Hey thanks:)
     
  13. ChittagongBoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #13
    FACETIME In-operative

    Folks !! anyone else having issues while trying to make a facetime call, may it be from iphone to iphone , ipad to iphone.... you get the drift.

    After 3 rings I get the call failed message - any solution to this problem, I should mention that I did try by turning the phone of and back on , but to no avail :(

    FYI: my device is jailbroken , before you jump to conclusions my brother who is using an unlocked version of the 4S , and a friend who is using an i4 on AT&T is also having the same issues.

    H E L P ! ! !
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Might be a conflict with a JB package you have installed.
    I had the same issue before and the problem was Igotya or I caughtU from what I remember.
     
  15. Che Castro thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #15
    Are you facetiming the same email address but in another device ?

    I had that problem

    Using my iphone to facetime my ipad
    I had the same 2 emails in receive at" in both devices ,

    U cant facetime the same email i think
     
  16. ChittagongBoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #16

    No, Im trying to call another person, diff email, diff number
     

Share This Page