FCP vs. Premiere: what's better to edit 39 hours of HD doc footage with subtitles?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Omanda, Oct 1, 2009.

1. Omanda macrumors newbie

This is my first time editing and I need to make some decisions about what kind of computer & software to get. This is a no-budget project at the moment but I will be saving up to get a computer.

I have always been a PC user and was planning on saving for a Macbook Pro (laptop is the most practical for me at this stage) and FCP - just assumed it was the standard for those of us too poor for Avid but am being pulled a bit in both directions.

I've only played with Macs and FCP a little bit so either way it's learning a new program, and I AM poor...but at the same time I hope this won't be my only project so may as well get the right gear up front.

It is a documentary so don't need to anything 'too fancy', but it is in HD and none of it is in English so the subtitle thing might make the difference.

Please advise!

2. handsome pete macrumors 68000

Well buying a Mac will give you the option of using both Premiere and FCP. So that alone might help you make the decision.

As for the editing software itself, I haven't used premiere in quite some time, but the basic principles of these NLEs work pretty much the same across the board. Except for Avid, which requires a little more of a learning curve. I can't really think of advantages either package would have over the other for your type of project.

As for the subtitles, I've never had to do them on the scale you're looking to do. I can only imagine that it will be very time consuming on any program you choose.

3. olisones macrumors regular