Fill up those Mac Pros boys!!! 750GB SATA for $219!!! UPDATED x2

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MovieCutter, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  2. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #2
    Daaaanngg.....! Good catch, I just ordered one. :D
     
  3. savar macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #3
  4. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #4
    Sweet deal. I wanted to buy 2 500Gb HD for an external enclosure. It looks like I will buy just one of these and then buy another HD later when I can afford it....

    Nuc
     
  5. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #5
    A very nice price. Too bad I only have a 2-channel SATAS card in my G4 and it's full...I knew I should have splashed out and got the 4-channel! :(
     
  6. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #6
    1 TB Drive

    I won't argue that this is a great price, but you may want to look at this review of the new Hitachi 1 TB drive. It will retail for $399. The interesting thing, though, is the better performance, cooler operating temp and it's nearly silent compared to the Seagate 750 GB Sata drive.

    http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=2949
     
  7. MovieCutter thread starter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
  8. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    I have three enclosures from http://www.vantecusa.com/

    You can pick two:
    usb
    firewire
    esata

    and they will have a matching enclosure. I have been happy.
     
  9. MovieCutter thread starter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    Yeah, except I can't find any of these right now, or I'd be all over it.
     
  10. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #10
    Is this compatible with my Powermac G5 in my sig? I thought I had Sata 150?
     
  11. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    SATA 300 drives will work fine on an SATA 150 bus.

    Holy crap. I wish I had some more money so I could get two. I could only afford one. :(

    Ordered! :D
     
  12. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #12
    I bought a 2.5" SATA USB enclosure from them for the 80GB HD that I replaced aftermarket in my MacBook.

    I had some concerns, but I have to say that I was really pleasantly surprised.

    Some reviews had suggested that we would need to connect to 2 USB ports to power the drive (they even include a funky cable for this purpose), but I had no problems with a regular USB hook-up.

    Construction is not five-star, but is in line with price.
     
  13. speekez macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #13
    Can a 1TB drive be put in the Mac Pro? I thought the max was 750GB. Just curious
     
  14. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14

    MacPros hold up to 2TB I think 750GB is for the 24"iMac.
     
  15. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Lycanthrope

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #15
    Indeed, they always talk about 3TB max (from four 750's) but perhaps that's because there weren't any 1TB discs available when they wrote that. Seems strange though to state it in such a way, I wonder if there really is a limit and whether that's per drive or total - so perhaps you could have 2 x 1TB's + 2 x 500GB's.

    Someone will definitively know the answer to this and post...
     
  16. jamericani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #16
    Yep. Got me one. Dont need it but i hate to pass up a price cut.
     
  17. speekez macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #17

    Yah I started thinking that, too... maybe it was because there were no 1TB drives at the time. But it would be good to know for planning purchases.
     
  18. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #18
    You have 4 disk drive slots - there's no restriction on what capacity drive you put in them, as long as they are SATA and fit in the drive bay.
     
  19. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Lycanthrope

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #19
    I would therefore call this statement on the Apple Store, Mac Pro configuration page misleading: " Your Mac Pro includes four Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive bays, offering up to 3 terabytes of data storage. Configure each drive bay separately."
     
  20. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #20
    They're saying that because the maximum sized hard drive THEY sell in the Mac Pro is 750GB. I'm sure the literature will change once the 1TB drives are in enough supply that they start offering them.
     
  21. cepler macrumors member

    cepler

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #21
    Sure there is a limit. 48 bit LBA will support up to 128 Pebibytes. Good luck making a file system that large :)
     
  22. jtown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #22
    Dangit. Says $309 now. Oh, well. I'm also waiting for the 1tb drive from Hitachi. They claimed they would ship to retail in 1st quarter, OEM 2nd. Towards the end of March, two OEMs began advertising 1tb drives and no sign of them in retail yet. :mad:

    As for the maximum storage capacity, Apple's obviously only going to list the maximum capacity they've tested. Back when I used to build a lot of PCs, most of the motherboards I bought had all kinds of qualifiers listed in their specs. advising that they "...cannot guarantee compatibility with XX meg memory modules as there were no XX meg modules available for testing at the time of printing. A BIOS update may be necessary..." Same with hard drives when manufacturers started integrating controllers into the motherboard. It was always, "It'll probably work, might need an update, but no guarantees for hardware that didn't exist at the time the product was released."
     
  23. MovieCutter thread starter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #25
    Bout damn time those 1TB were available. Still a killer price on the 750GB though.
     

Share This Page