Final Cut Pro X 10.4 Released With Support for 360º VR Video Editing, HDR and HEVC Video, and Much More

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Dec 14, 2017.

  1. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #26
    native LUT application? Curves? final-freaking-lee
     
  2. dorsal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    #27
    Apple removed the menu pick for their software from their website. How serious are they about their own software? :-(
     
  3. FasterQuieter macrumors 6502

    FasterQuieter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #28
    HEVC! Excellent, I can finally empty my phone.

    "Balance Color command includes an eye dropper for manual white balance." I invoked balance color, but I see no white balance picker. Anybody able to find it?
     
  4. PaulRustad007 macrumors 6502

    PaulRustad007

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #29

    You need to chant the Jony Ives mantra will strutting around naked carrying an apple at dawn on the Winter Solstice and you will be rewarded......
     
  5. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #30
    Downloading now...

    The "In Action" Page is now gone from Apple's site. Bummer, I really liked reading about real user stories. Thomas Grove Carter had a lot of space there too.
     
  6. FasterQuieter macrumors 6502

    FasterQuieter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #31
    Slightly alarming setting in compressor. I guess they want us to use 10 bit HEVC?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. nt5672 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #32
    This is exactly the problem with Apple. No predictability. No roadmap. No confidence. Yet they want you locked in so you have no other options. Apple has no loyalty to customers, but expect complete loyalty from its customers. This is a one sided relationship that is no good for anyone but Apple and its shareholders. Now they are years late with a pro machine, that they have no intention in updating in the next 5 years. They put in a completely option less package that forces a complete replacement if the display fails. When will people just stop drinking the Koolaid.
     
  8. Ragnar51 macrumors member

    Ragnar51

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Milford CT USA
    #33

    And a big Amen to that!!
     
  9. peppespizzapie Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #34
    I just tried it!! ALL my files from all my Samsung camera's (WITH HEVC) are not regonised!!
    Great work......
     
  10. rixax macrumors member

    rixax

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #35
    Getting update but for most projects importing from Livestream HD51 deck (Motion Jpeg AVI), I use FCP 10.2 in legacy mode under High Sierra. Hope that Vimeo buying Livestream will update Livestream Studio Software to allow for HD recording in compatible format. Cause Apple dropped support for AVI. Why did they bother to do that?
     
  11. FasterQuieter macrumors 6502

    FasterQuieter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #36
    When High Sierra came out I was dismayed to learn that non of my Handbrake HEVC encodes run natively on the Mac. They must have a very specific implementation. (Though the Handbrake nightly builds do now encode in an Apple supported HEVC format).
     
  12. CrystalQuest76 Suspended

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Location:
    West Cost A Lot
    #37
    Can anyone provide links to sample projects created in Final Cut Pro X using this 360degree technology?
    I am curious to see what it looks like.
     
  13. james948 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    #38
    +1 but I can't even see the update yet.
     
  14. macs4nw macrumors 601

    macs4nw

    #39
    How many Pros are going to run FCP X 10.4 on a 6 year old MBP?..... a 4 year old trashcan MacPro perhaps.
     
  15. FasterQuieter macrumors 6502

    FasterQuieter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #40
    I imagine it runs pretty well on a 2011 MacBook Pro. It runs fine on my 2012 Macbook Air.
     
  16. rezwits macrumors 6502a

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #41
    Holy FREAKING WOW!! Just when you thought you would be fine with 8 cores, or even 4 on your laptop!!

    That iMac Pro has PURPOSE! gees... (360 Video? FCP!!) YES!
     
  17. e1me5 macrumors 6502

    e1me5

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Location:
    Cyprus
    #42
    Don't assume everyone is wealthy and able to purchase the latest Macs. Besides, it is a very well optimised program, allowing my MBP to outperform 2-3 year old laptops. If it does the job well, why replace it?
     
  18. dorsal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    #43

    See 3:57 in video:

     
  19. CmdrLaForge macrumors 601

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #44
    Not a Pro at video editing by any means but I use it on my dual core 13" MBP from 2013 without any issues for HD videos.
     
  20. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #45
    And still no support for Cinema DNG :( Apart from that looking pretty good.
     
  21. netwalker, Dec 14, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2017

    netwalker macrumors regular

    netwalker

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #46
    When I try to update FCPX the Apple store now says:
    "This item is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later." :(
    Update: Working now after switching stores. Download function is obviously not able to see if a user is in the wrong regional store. QA also missed that.
     
  22. boomer tim macrumors newbie

    boomer tim

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    #47
    Seems they have removed the ability "right click" and open a clip in the timeline. Now you must use the "clip" menu. Why is this?? I wonder what else might me changed.
     
  23. JesperA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #48
  24. perplx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    #49
    Apple uses a different fourcc code for some reason (hvc1 instead of hev1), you can make your files compatible without re-encoding using this command.

    Code:
    ffmpeg -i infile.mp4 -c: copy -tag:v hvc1 oufile.mp4
    
     
  25. PaulRustad007 macrumors 6502

    PaulRustad007

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #50
    It is working fine for me....went right to the DL
     

Share This Page