Finally landed the Holy Grail of the Unlocked Iphone 6 Plus - The Verizon version!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cc999, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. cc999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    After days of trying to order the Tmobile version online and getting the error at checkout, I decided to go for the Holy Grail of the Unlocked Iphone 6 Plus and try to get the unlocked version of the Verizon Iphone 6 plus. The only way to do this was to go right to the Apple store as this could not be done online. Day one I came up empty. Day 2, with use of the istock now url I saw an Apple store had received stock last night. I was there at store open and landed a beautiful Iphone 6 Plus - Space Grey - 128 gb - Unlocked. Took it home, first tried the included Verizon Sim - perfect, then put in a Tmobile Sim card - perfect - then I put in my ATT sim from my current Iphone 6- Bingo perfect.

    From reading these newsgroups I was educated to the fact that the Verizon version purchased full price from Apple comes unlocked and can be used on both GSM and CDMA (Verizon version has a registered IMEI on the Verizon network, Tmobiles does not) The Verizon version is also the best for International travel.

    The phone is gorgeous. I love it. Just put my Tmobile 6 for sale on Amazon.

    CC
     
  2. Supermallet macrumors 65816

    Supermallet

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #2
    I'm sorry CC, but we were recently informed that it needs to say unlocked on the box in order for it to work on other carriers.

    Please report to the Ministry of Information for re-education.
     
  3. Kal~El macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #3
    Full price or not it is still unlocked.
     
  4. Starfyre macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #4
    I had one since launch day. Did not think it was the holy grail at the time.
     
  5. cc999 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #5
    Unlocked

    That is false. The Iphone 6 Tmobile version I had before did not say unlocked on the box and neither did the Plus version. I tried 3 different carrier Sims and it works perfectly. This has been hashed out on many a thread in
    this forum. Consider yourself re-educated.

    CC
     
  6. polaxgr1 macrumors newbie

    polaxgr1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #6
    nice job on the verizon model. Need to ask you something, i bought an iPhone 6 plus 128gb from apple store (t-mobile) full price. Its the a1522 one. Do you know if i can use it in Europe/greece?
     
  7. cc999 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #7
    Bands

    I am sure in Europe it works, I believe also in Greese. Here is the official info:

    T MOBILE VERSION:
    A1522 (GSM): This is the popular iPhone 6 Plus version that can work properly on most GSM carriers over the world, including United States, Canada and Puerto Rico. Its compatible bands are GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz), UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz) and LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29).

    VERIZON VERSION
    A1522 (CDMA): This is the world phone version of the iPhone 6 Plus, it is the one you get when you buy it through Verizon. As all Verizon iPhones are factory unlocked, it can work on most CDMA and GSM networks in the world. To know if it is compatible with carriers in your country, check out its radio frequencies: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz), GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz), UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz) and LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29).

    CC
     
  8. jeproks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #8
    AT&T version are unlocked as well if you buy it full price. Just need to connect it to itunes and it will say "Congratulations, your iphone has been unlocked".
     
  9. polaxgr1 macrumors newbie

    polaxgr1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #9

    Right yea, i forgot about that
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    It's my understanding that the "holy grail" version would be the Sprint version of the iPhone, because it has the most versatility when it comes to world radio frequencies. Now, being that Sprint never unlocks their phones, that's kind of confusing, but the Sprint version is the same model they sell fully unlocked in Japan.

    So, congratulations on the Verizon iPhone, but you'd really have the "holy grail" of unlocked phones if you had the Japanese model or a full unlocked Sprint model (impossible as that might be).
     
  11. legioxi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #11
    The ATT, T-Mobile and Verizon phones are all the same model. Once unlocked, they will work on any carrier except Sprint. They also have the same bands (due to the same model). The Verizon phone comes unlocked regardless if bought full price or not. My ATT phone was unlocked via a web service ($100 :( )

    Case in point, my phone is an ATT phone and it is on my Verizon account - the "registered IMEI" only means it is listed as "NON-VZW DEVICE" on their website, they still accept it on the network. This is due to LTE and is not the same for CDMA ONLY devices.
     
  12. cc999 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #12
    true

    True but it is simply almost impossible to get unlocked:

    A1524: The model is available via Sprint in the US and it is sold locked to the CDMA carrier. However, you can buy the unlocked iPhone 6 Plus in some countries in Asia and Europe like Singapore, Hong Kong, or Japan. It has a wide range of spectrum frequencies and technically it is compatible with any GSM or CDMA operator. However, the problem is that you won’t be able to buy this version in the US. If you want to buy the factory unlocked iPhone 6 Plus A1524 in the US. Following are its radio frequencies: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A and Rev. B (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz), TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A), GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz), UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz), FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29) and TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41). You will be able to use LTE in Europe and Asia including countries like China, Hong Kong, Japan, France, Germany, Singapore,

    CC
     
  13. Supermallet macrumors 65816

    Supermallet

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #13
    I was joking, it's a reference to this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1811045
     
  14. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #14
    the t mobile version also has CDMA radios in it their just not active... and well verizon themselves are abandoning CDMA for LTE...

    and by the way i think only country with CDMA is USA with verizon and sprint and a couple generic islands on the pacific that also use this technology so it is not a super holy grain bud
     
  15. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #15
    Despite Apple's claims, CDMA is enabled on the T-mobile and AT&T 6 and 6 pluses. I've used mine on Verizon with no problem.
     
  16. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #16
    Same here...
     
  17. Acronyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #17
    I have the unlocked Japanese version and it's model A1586. The box says it supports CDMA, GSM, TD-SCDMA, UMTS, and LTE both FDD and TD. Is this the same as the Sprint model? I've used it in Japan with all three major carriers and in the ROK and Hong Kong so far without any issues. Really glad I got unlocked this time.
     
  18. cc999 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #18
    Cost

    What did that cost you? Where did you purchase it?

    CC
     
  19. cc999 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #19
  20. bunnicula macrumors 68040

    bunnicula

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
  21. Acronyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #21
    Since I live in Japan I bought it directly from Apple Japan's online store. I got the 64GB version and with AppleCare+ and tax it came to JPY 96,336, or about US$840.
     
  22. cc999 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #22
    wow

    Wow, can someone in the USA purchase it thru Apple's Japan site?
    Will that phone work on all USA carriers and Bands?

    That model vs the Verizon model I have, whats the advantage? Just Japan LTE?

    CC
     
  23. Acronyc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    #23
    You need a Japanese address and Japanese credit or debit card to purchase it. They don't sell it in Apple stores here either (the last time I checked) so the only way you can get it is via their online store.

    That's interesting it is the same model as Verizon, while others above were saying it is the Sprint model.

    The big advantage in Japan is that the major carriers will not unlock your phone no matter what, even if you purchase it outright and owe them nothing. If you buy a phone locked to a network, they will never officially unlock it for you even if you paid full price and have been a customer in good standing for years. It's very annoying and is the main reason I bought it directly from Apple, so I could get it unlocked and not stuck to one carrier.

    Besides this I'm not sure what the advantage is, but it works with all three major carriers here on LTE. I noticed that site splits this model into a GSM and CDMA model. In Japan KDDI, one of the three carriers, is CDMA while the other two are GSM, so maybe there is not this differentiation in Japan and its only one type for this model?
     
  24. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #24
    Only advantage I see is having that extra bands to work on LTE.
     
  25. JayIsAwesome macrumors 65816

    JayIsAwesome

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #25
    Sweet. Didnt realize I've had the holy grail all this time. I've had it since launch day.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page