Find my iPhone sound?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by lostngone, Mar 11, 2013.

  1. lostngone macrumors demi-god

    lostngone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage
    #1
    Is it just me or does sound the phone plays seem to be worst possible sound to play to actually pin-point the device.

    I am not talking about if you left it on a table or on the floor in a large uncluttered room. I am talking about a more cluttered environment like in a pile of clothes or underneath/behind car seats. The modified sonar tone makes it very hard(for me at least) to pin-point by sound alone.
    I would think a loud constant single tone or split tone would be much easier to pin-point.

    Maybe it is just me...
     
  2. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #2
    If the phone is not too distant, why not do as I do, namely, ringing yourself and then you can choose your own ring tone?
     
  3. lostngone thread starter macrumors demi-god

    lostngone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage
    #3
    I only have one phone.
     
  4. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #4
    ? I use google voice for 2 things - calling CS or finding my phone...It's 2013, we don't need phones to make calls any more.
     
  5. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    None of that matters if your phone is on vibrate mode, which is what makes Find My Phone such a fantastic feature to begin with.

    I don't have the problem the OP does with the sound, but that doesn't mean FMP isn't a totally unique feature that nothing else can do.
     
  6. Ste Nova macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Location:
    LL22, UK
    #6
    its not designed to track it right down, it's so you can quickly locate its rough position, the last 2 meters your on your own
     
  7. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #7
    Aha - good point! However, you could use Skype on your MacBook to make the call.
     

Share This Page