Fingerprint sensor not working

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jarrahammer, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. Jarrahammer macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #1
    So I got my 5S from Apple.com yesterday, set up my fingerprints, and everything was fine. This morning, it was not recognizing any of my fingers, so I tried to register my fingers again. Now I cant even set up a finger. Is there something with my sensor or what?
     
  2. cristovao macrumors 6502a

    cristovao

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Calgary
    #2
    Set up an appointment at the Genius bar and have them look at it.
     
  3. octatonic macrumors regular

    octatonic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Try doing a full reset on the phone.

    When I got mine it wasn't showing me my App purchases.
    I did a full wipe and reset and it fixed it.

    If that doesn't work then I'd suggest taking it to Apple.
     
  4. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #4
    My sister was having issues setting it up yesterday. Make sure you have downloaded the 7.0.1 update and if that doesn't work, try a reset. That fixed it for her.
     
  5. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #5
    If I do a full wipe, can I restore from a backup afterwards? Dont really want to lose all of my settings.

    ----------

    Yeah its on 7.0.1 if I reset it should I not use a backup?
     
  6. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #6
    I am not seeing the update.... still at 7.0.0.0.0
     
  7. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #7
    Funny thing is I set up the fingerprints on 7.0 and after I updated last night it wont work. Dont know if I should reset now since I am away feom home and dont want to lose everything on my phone
     
  8. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #8
    If you just do "Reset All Settings" you won't lose your data.
     
  9. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #9
    Just tried, still doesn't work.
     
  10. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #10
    I just set up a Genius Bar appointment. Waited long enough for the phone to come, just want to get this resolved right away.
     
  11. Lucille Carter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #11
    Hmmmm. My 5S did the 7.0.1 update during my restore. My VP got his via OTA.
     
  12. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #12
    What I see is that the setup the fingerprints which then work perfectly but 24 hours I can't get them recognized anymore.

    I then delete the existing ones, rescan and it works fine. 24 hours later nothing being recognized again.

    Anyone else seeing anything like this?
     
  13. octatonic macrumors regular

    octatonic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #13
    At this stage I would completely wipe it and see if it works or not.
    You can always restore from a backup later if it works.
    If it doesn't then it doesn't matter- you have to take it back.
     
  14. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #14
    Can I wipe from the phone itself or do i need a computer?
     
  15. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #15
    You can wipe from the phone itself but you need a backup in iCloud or a computer to restore. You can't do a full OS restore on the phone without a computer.
     
  16. Learylvr. macrumors regular

    Learylvr.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    #16
    Same here... I received my phone yesterday , set up finger prints... It worked fine.. After I updated to 7.0.1, it only worked occasionally . I deleted my finger prints and re-scanned them. Seems much better now... Still not a 100% accurate but better. I'm gonna use it all day and see if it's more accurate ... Maybe it's user error... Mine#... Lol
     
  17. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #17
    Opps... Nevermind... Misunderstood your post.
     
  18. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #18
    That's not the issue. The issue is after some period of time the fingerprints aren't recognized anymore. I've been seeing this launch day. It works for a fine then doesn't. Nothing to do with restarting (and yes, you have to use the passcode the first time after restarting).
     
  19. itsmemuffins macrumors 68030

    itsmemuffins

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #19
    Look I don't know how to put this but...

    ...it is quite clear that you are dead and just don't know about it...
     
  20. patrickbarnes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #20
    I had the exact same problem. There's no need to restore or whatever, that does nothing (and has always done nothing). Genius bar is similarly pointless.

    I'm still fighting the sensor, but I basically had to keep deleting my finger profiles and retraining it until it started working 100%.

    It seems to have a problem when you add more than 1 finger to the profiles, so that's why none of the reviews and what not have picked up on it.

    What you need to do:

    1. Delete all finger profiles.
    2. Add one finger.
    3. Keep locking and unlocking the phone with that finger, so it trains the sensor to accept all the variations in angle/ridges/etc of your finger.
    4. Once that works 95% of the time, add another finger.
    5. Go to step 3.

    That's worked for me, and now my scan failure rate is like 1 in 10 (and I usually just move my finger a little bit, and it unlocks). It does work, just takes more training.

    I think it has something to do with how your fingerprint looks to the scanner... my skin is pretty coarse, so it seems to take more time. My DW's unlocks every single time with zero training, and we have identical phones (same factory, same production week, etc).
     
  21. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
    #21
    My problem is after I deleted the prints, I am not able to register new ones again. It keeps saying it failed. I'm thinking its a hardware issue on my end.
     
  22. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #22
    My issue wasn't really the failure rate. It was more it working fine then not working after several hours. They just released 7.0.2 so I restored the OS (not restored from backup) then went through the training again. Working perfectly at the moment. We will see if it continues to work.
     
  23. Jarrahammer thread starter macrumors member

    Jarrahammer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    OC
  24. octatonic macrumors regular

    octatonic

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #24
    There you go.
    Nice one.
     
  25. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #25
    My sister had the same issue. For whatever reason, downloading 7.0.1 and resetting did the trick. Perhaps it's the same thing that affected your phone.
     

Share This Page