Firefox 55.0.3 Won’t Post To MAC Rumors Forum

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jaeb0922, Sep 20, 2017.

  1. jaeb0922, Sep 20, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2017

    jaeb0922 macrumors 6502

    jaeb0922

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    just as the title states, looks like a huge bug in FF 55.0.3 as I have tried on my iMac and MacBook Pro. The reply area is white with zero text. Works fine in chrome and safari. I know FF isn’t for all but I’ve used it for over 15 years now and never had an issue, until now.

    Any ideas on what could be the cause behind the scenes?

    Stinks having to post via my iPhone and iPad all day haha!

    UPDATE: Its definitely something in FF55+ as I tested with 54. Works fine. Also, if I click edit (as I did here), the edit text area works perfectly.

    Something with the text area and MR isnt loving each other though. Wish I could fix it soon! UGH!
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Why not just "go back" to the earlier version of Firefox that works?
     
  3. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    my 2010 macbook with 55.0.3 works fine

    Im running sierra, 240gb SSD and 8GB ram.

    maybe your flash player or something else needs updating?
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    Well, I usually use Safari, but sometimes there are pesky sites that require me to use Firefox. Anyway, I just opened Firefox 55.0.3 on my cMP 5,1 and am posting here. Seems to work fine:p I'm on Sierra 10.12.6.

    Lou
     
  5. jaeb0922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jaeb0922

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    Well damn....

    Perhaps it’s a plugin or addin or something. I updated flash. I’m lost.

    Sounds logical right? Going back to say 54 makes other things not work. Weighing the good and the bad, 55 is better than 54, so.... no.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2017 ---
    Can someone higher up here at Mac Rumors tell me the technology that powers this WYSIWYG text area?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2017 ---
    I figured it out. It was a setting I had changed in about:config. Works perfectly now. Thanks for the feedback yall. Close the thread.
     
  6. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    betwixt
    #6
    For those in the future who may see this thread, could you post exactly which Firefox setting you changed, and what you changed it back to so it worked?

    Thanks.
     
  7. jaeb0922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jaeb0922

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #7
    Absolutely. I’m not at my desk, but it actually was an extension called Night Shift I believe. It makes websites inverst to Black mode in a sense. It didn’t play well with the WYSIWYG text area on here I guess.
     

Share This Page

6 September 20, 2017