first time Mac buyer: Buying a 2011 macbook pro or waiting till 2012?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by simswithguns, Oct 20, 2011.

1. simswithguns macrumors newbie

Hey all,

I'm currently a student but I'm graduating in December and my parents said they would help me get a macbook (no time limit on when necessarily). I have been a lifetime Windows user and I still like Windows, but my Toshiba is getting old and really needs to be replaced. Now I know that the new MBP's should be coming out in Feb or something like that. my question is do you think that I should wait to buy it when the new ones come out or should I get one before graduation when I can get my student pricing (only 100 bucks off at most). Also should I go ahead and buy software and other things that I would get the student discount on (MS office, stuff like that)? I'm looking into the 13 MBP, I really want a 15 MBP but its really expensive. My Toshiba from 2007, is a 17in. I love the big screen and full keyboard but it has insanely crappy battery life making it basically a portable desktop.

I also want to know what everybody's opinion is on AppleCare, I've heard many different things

thanks

2. simsaladimbamba

What you get, depends on your needs, which you haven't stated yet. But I presume, that the current generation of MBPs will do just fine for yours.

You could also look into refurbs:

MacRumors Guides: Apple Refurbished Store

Apple Certified Refurbished Products

If you want more information, here are just a few of many threads on this topic, found by searching the forum with MRoogle:
    Refurbished MBP or New?
    Getting an iMac - New or Refurbished?
    Refurbished vs new
    HELP: Refurbished 17" or New High End 15"?!
    Are Refurbished Macs as high quality their new counterparts?
    Do refurbished fail more often than new MBP's?
    New MPB or refurbished model?

search results by GGJstudios

And this about Apple Care:

3. simswithguns thread starter macrumors newbie