For a college student: Retina MBP 13 or Lenovo Yoga Pro 2?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by therimgreaper, Jan 10, 2014.

1. therimgreaper macrumors newbie

I'm a college student whose had the Late 2008 Unibody MacBook since it came out and am in need of an upgrade.

As a student, I'll need it mostly for word processing and web browsing, but am also into photography so some basic Photoshop and Lightroom as well.

I think that the rMBP 13 and Lenovo's Yoga 2 Pro are the greatest suited for my needs. I already know a lot about the Macbooks, but does anyone have any insight into the Yoga 2 Pro? There are a few reviews but no real comparisons between the two.

If anyone can help, that'd be great.

2. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

velocityg4

The battery life isn't as good. The display is vastly superior. The low to high end CPU options are better. Although it uses an SSD it is a much slower SSD than in the Air.

It's got a high DPI screen. Which I've read mixed reviews on how well Windows 8 handles it. Although 8.1 has improved it. Many apps can have blurry fonts without tweaking. As a bonus you can easily turn off scaling for tons of screen real estate if you have eagle grade vision.

Like the Air you should max out the RAM for the longest useful life. As it is soldered. The SSD is mSATA so you can easily find off the shelf upgrades.

As for the touch screen and tablet mode you may or may not use it. Last I checked there are few useful apps for the Metro interface. As the bulk of software for Windows is Desktop mode only the touchscreen may be little more than a gimmick. Since the Windows desktop is certainly not touch friendly.

3. kelon111 macrumors 6502

Between the two , the Retina MBP 13 offers a better experience.

If you buy a Lenovo , only buy ThinkPads. The Yoga 2 Pro is an IdeaPad so the warranty isn't going to be as good as Apple's in you need to use it.

4. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

velocityg4