For AT&T Lumia owners that want to move to T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Lloydbm41, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. Lloydbm41, Jun 21, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2014

    Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #1
    Well, I decided that paying $130 a month for service with AT&T (and overage charges!) was to much and I was tired of the constant fees being added. Time to move to T-Mobile I thought, especially after seeing the latest in carrier event which includes no DTA charge if you use Pandora and a few other music streaming services AND of course no overage fees, ever! So now I have unlimited everything for $80 a month.

    So here was my problem. My wife and I have Windows Phones (Lumia 1020 & 1520). My wife refuses to use any other phone now (she used to be a diehard iPhone user!) Anyway, T-Mobile doesn't sell either phone and my 1520 is an AT&T exclusive model. But... Got everything to work without issue. If you want to move to T-Mobile and have a Lumia, here are your steps. Warning: this may require you to have been on your current AT&T plan for at ll east 6 months. I know I was.

    1. Go to T-Mobile with any phone other than the Lumia (but uses the same type of Sim, whether it be micro or nano) and have them set you up with a plan and port your current number over from AT&T. This will cancel your contract with AT&T allowing you to request an unlock code for your Lumia. See my warning above regarding having at least 6 months on current contract.

    2. Go here and request unlock code from AT&T. Note: My Lumia was paid in full, but my wife's was not. We both got unlock codes with 24 hours of request.
    Link: https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/client/en_US/

    3. Once you receive the email with your unlock code from AT&T, insert the T-Mo Sim into your Lumia and turn your device on. The Sim won't be recognized and you'll be requested to input your 20 digit unlock code. Once done wait up to 10 minutes and your Lumia will now be on T-Mobile. If you are a 1020 or 520 owner, you are done. If you are an AT&T 1520 (RM-940) owner, read on:

    HOW TO:

    Requirements (Pre-requisites)
    AT&T 1520 Phone
    T-Mobile NanoSIM
    Foreign NanoSIM (I used an Orange SIM from the UK)
    Access Point App, installed on the phone Link: http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/app/access-point/ce3895c7-01d0-4daf-a4c3-25c10463942d


    Step-by-Step for getting ATT 1520 working on T-Mobile:

    Part I : Use Access Point and the foreign SIM to configure tethering settings
    Insert foreign SIM card into phone and boot it up.
    Goto Settings->Access Point, launch the app, and verify that it applies the foreign settings (it should read 'active' underneath the Mobile Operator settings being used)
    Reboot the phone to ensure the settings 'stick'
    Shut down the phone.
    Remove the SIM card.

    Part II: Uninstall Access Point to keep the tethering settings. (If you don't do this and boot with the T-Mobile SIM, Access Point may apply a different set of tethering settings.)
    Boot the phone
    Go to settings->Time & Date
    Turn off Automatic Date, set the year to 2113 (or something ridiculous. You may get requests to update gmail and outlook... Ignore these)
    Go to settings->Access Point. When you launch the app, it will request to uninstall because it has expired. Uninstall it.
    Restore the time & date settings, shut down the phone.

    Part III: Boot with the T-Mobile SIM and configure APN/MMS settings
    Insert the T-Mobile SIM card, boot phone
    Goto Settings->Cellular+SIM
    Configure & save internet settings with THIS info:
    Under 'edit Internet APN' ONLY input the following info
    APN: fast.tmobile.com

    Nothing else. Every other block should be left blank. Hit save.

    Goto 'edit MMS APN' and only input the info for the following data:
    APN: fast.tmobile.com
    MMSURL: http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc
    Port: 80

    Leave all other blocks blank. Hit save.

    Now, send yourself a picture MMS to apply the new MMS and data settings (this is important).
    Go to Settings->internet sharing, turn on sharing.


    At this point, you should be able to successfully do everything that a device should be able to do. Send picture messages. Share internet. :)

    I now have unlocked Lumia working on T-Mobiles network. I just don't have LTE on T-Mobile, because the band is missing on my version of the 1520. But my 4G speeds on T-Mobile are faster than my LTE speeds on ATT! Go figure.
     
  2. jamezr macrumors G4

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #2
    Very nice write up Lloyd! I am glad AT&T gave you the unlock code for your wife's phone that was not paid for. Sometimes they make you wait until it is paid and clears a billing cycle.
    How has your experience on T-MO been so far?
     
  3. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #3
    Been 1 day, but so far so good. My Moto X (which was always unlocked, same as my Nexus 5) both run perfectly with faster speeds than when they were on ATT. The 1520 I just got figured out today when I typed this up. So far tethering, MMS and texting work fine. Speeds are slower though on T-Mobile. Gonna give it some time to calibrate and take it out to get multiple cell towers.
     
  4. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    I thought the iPhone was the only one with a nano sim.
     
  5. jamezr macrumors G4

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #5
    My HTC M8 has a nano sim. I think all the recent Nokia Lumia phones have nano sims too.
     
  6. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #6
    HTC One, Lumia 1520 and Moto X all have nano Sims.
     
  7. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    I dont like that. Id prefer them all to have the same sim size. Makes it easier to switch phones without an adapter that usually dont fit very well and is hard to get back out or just wont fit.

    So if i get a lumia 930 when they come out, ill have to use a damn adapter to use my N5 again as ill need to get a nano sim for the 930 :mad:
     
  8. jamezr macrumors G4

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #8
    I am with you man......i wish they would all just pick a standard and stick to it.
    Every time i switch phones it involves a trip to AT&T to get sims swapped it seems like. At least there is one close and they do it for free....
     
  9. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    If the Moto X has a nano sim why the hell didnt they give the Nexus 5 with one? Just irritating since they came out near the same time. N5 may have even been out later.
     
  10. Lloydbm41, Jun 21, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2014

    Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #10
    Yes, I use an adaptor I bought on Amazon in order to use the Lumia 1020/520 and my Nexus 5. Its from a company called MediaDevil and once you have a nanosim, this has adaptors to fit every phone on the market. Costs $5 and I can attest that this adaptor kit works. I use it all the time.
    Link: http://mediadevil.com/us/browse-by-product/others/simdevil-sim-adapter/simdevil-sim-adapter.html

    ----------

    Because this was the standard Apple championed and I believe have a patent on (although it is a nonmonetary licensing patent I believe, but only with RIM aka BB, Nokia and Motorola) Don't think Google wants to deal with an Apple patent with the Nexus line?
     
  11. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #11
    Question ...

    Is this because your phone is carrier locked ?

    Reason I ask is that de branding and flashing new clean international version software on Lumia devices is ridiculously easy, as long as your carrier unlocked.

    So it seems to me as long as you got the unlock code for the device either from the carrier or pay an unlock service for the code, you could follow this guide here.

    I debranded both my 1520 & 1020 this way and put on standard factory unlocked firmware.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2515453


    And yep it works with 8.1 too ...
     
  12. Lloydbm41, Jun 22, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014

    Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #12
    I'm about to give this a whirl on my 1520 and see how it goes.

    Edit: Well, I was able to revert back to WP 8.0, but only for the AT&T variant which means I can't activate the AWS bands for LTE on T-Mobile. I tried loading both the International Version of the 1520 (RM-937), the RM-938 (US Version with Int'l bands and Qi Charging) and had no luck. Had to load the RM-940 AT&T variant. So, I have an unlocked phone that is on T-Mobile and works, but have to wait for T-Mobile to refarm my area or add the freq bands needed for me to see LTE.

    On a side note, if I go to Europe, I should be good to get LTE!
     

Share This Page