for those of you who leave your macbook in sleep

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Beowulf666, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Beowulf666 macrumors regular

Beowulf666

Just wondering, do you leave it attached to the power cord or do you remove it? I'm new to mac's and i'm starting to leave my mac on sleep over night because apparently its better, but i'm just not sure as to if i should leave it attached to the power cord. Thanks ^_^.

2. riscy macrumors 6502a

riscy

I leave mine plugged in overnight on sleep mode so that I have 100% for the next day at work - in sleep mode all day.

3. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

I don't often let my computer sleep overnight (as I use the night to transfer things from by TiVo and to use Limewire). But when I do, I leave it plugged is as to prevent the battery from being drained (an therefore wasted).

TEG

4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

gr8tfly

Mine's plugged in when at home (I use it in clamshell mode, anyway, it required being connected to a/c).

As far as using or not using the battery, it uses very little power during sleep, so it really doesn't matter much over night. But, if you leave it plugged in, it'll have a full charge when you need it.

5. motulist macrumors 601

motulist

It is always better for any laptop to stay connected to its power supply as often as convenience permits, whether it's asleep or awake.

6. mbrydone macrumors regular

leave it plugged in...even though its in sleep, it is still using power...no need to unnessecarily drain your computer of power

7. priller macrumors regular

8. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

Plugged in. If you leave it unplugged, it will (very slowly) unnecessarily drain the batter down when it could just be running off the mains instead...

9. Hankster macrumors 68020

Hankster