MP 7,1 For those who are buying mp 7.1, how would you customize your workstation?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macpro2019, Jun 10, 2019 at 6:26 AM.

  1. Macpro2019 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    #1
    i was thinking of getting myself 12 core with 1tb or 2 tb Ssd. I can just get 32 gb rams. And get myself radeon 7 x1.

    What about you guys?
     
  2. Barry Bishop macrumors member

    Barry Bishop

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    #2
    16core, 32gb of ram, 1 Vega module, Afterburner card, 1TB ssd raid0, Possibly a DeckLink 8k Pro.
    My guess $8k for computer...$300 for ram, 1 Vega Module $2k, Afterburner, $4k, $600 ssd, Decklink $645. Just north of $15k (before taxes)
     
  3. filterdecay macrumors regular

    filterdecay

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    #3
    16 core possibly a vega but not for 2k. Ill live with the low end if it can drive 4 monitors Im fine. 256gb system drive is fine for software. I will probably get the Pegasus mpx 4 drive bay. 32gb of ram will have to due for now and I will put that to 64gb later.
     
  4. crjackson2134, Jun 10, 2019 at 11:28 AM
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019 at 8:37 PM

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    WHEN I purchase mine, I intend to purchase the following configuration.

    12c Processor (fast clock speeds)
    32 GB memory (I will expand that later)
    1x Vega Module
    512GB NAND boot blade (I have plenty of PCIe SSD storage to install from my cMP)
     
  5. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #5
    I would wait for the silent update of the Mac Pro with Radeon VII MPX Module.

    Then:
    - 8 or 12 core CPU
    - 32 GB memory
    - 512 GB SSD
     
  6. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #6
    Where are you all getting prices for the options? I haven't seen them published anywhere.

    I use my computer for photo and video editing, gaming, and as a scientist planning to do computations and modeling. I think the base machine is actually okay for most of the things I do, but I would prefer the Vega II graphics depending on the price. The Duo card would make it the most future-proof. I think I would prefer these specs:

    12-core
    32GB RAM (can upgrade later)
    1 TB SSD (dual 512 GB)
    Radeon Pro Vega II Duo
    --- Post Merged, Jun 10, 2019 at 1:23 PM ---
    For those saying 512GB storage you'll have to opt for 1 TB as there is no 512 GB option.
     
  7. jameslmoser macrumors 6502a

    jameslmoser

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    I believe you will need to have the 12-core and 48 Gigs of ram (or Six DIMMs) to get the best RAM performance?

    12-core
    48GB RAM
    Radeon Pro Vega II

    Of course this would also depend on the pricing for the upgrades, this is my minimum configuration that would be updated later. I would get some sort of additional storage for my files and use the proprietary 256GB SSD as a boot drive only... if at all. It might be cheaper upgrading the RAM myself but I wouldn't want to touch the internals for a period of time to make sure there weren't any factory/design defects that manifest... wouldn't want apple blaming something I changed for the problem. =)
     
  8. MisterAndrew macrumors 65816

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #8
    I’m sure we’ll see a lot of 580X MPXs trying to be unloaded from people who got a deal on the base model. A 2nd one of those might be a good inexpensive option for those who need more than 8 GB VRAM, but don’t quite need 32 GB.
     
  9. Barry Bishop macrumors member

    Barry Bishop

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    #9
    These prices are my own :) based on similarly priced items, and upgrades prices.
     
  10. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #10
    I'd cover the Apple with a z4.jpg logo - because although Apple compares against Z8 prices, they're delivering a Z4 product.
     
  11. davidec macrumors regular

    davidec

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #11
    Im in for Audio Production so I'm going 16 core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD and a Pegasus MPX module to host 4 x HDD's.
    Reckon that will be 12K.
     
  12. Macpro2019 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    #12
    Awesome setup i bet.
     
  13. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    Hmmm I think 12 or 16 core, 128gb ram, 1 Vega module, 1tb SSD.
    That should future proof it for a while. I have enough TB2 external storage that I can use.
    I think less ram makes zero sense with so many cores. My current 8 core uses its 64gb perfectly during rendering. 6gb per core is recommended by adobe for an after effects workstation. I’m worried about the price....
     
  14. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #14
    It far closer to be a blend of the Z4 and Z6 (with some subset of Z8 features thrown in). The Z6 already has a single LGA-3647 socket ( versus Z4 LGA-2066 socket). They would need a new motherboard to provision out the additional x16 PCI-e lanes but if want the minimal board changes to get to The W-32xx series you'd start with a single socket 3647 board..... which is what the basic Z6 is.

    [ The z6 has a socket to expand out into a second CPU socket which is different from the new Mac Pro's foundational design, but the baseline is closer than the z4 is. e.g., 6 DIMM sockets standard vs 4 DIMM is closer to the Mac Pro. ]

    Apple doing the fewest systems for the most folks they are going to be aiming for a blended middle not either the Z4 or Z8. The one in the middle is going to be the closer match, but Apple is aiming specifically at none of them as a one-for-one 'killer' substitute. There is no individual z4 , z6 , or z8 'killer' as an objective.


    Similarly on the Dell side the 5000 series would probably mutate to cover the W series socket change ( and loose some DIMM sockets to absorb the larger CPU socket. )


    if Intel priced a W-22xx series better it would work better and the z4 and LGA-2066 board version of Dell 5000 don't have to disappear. Apple has similar needs with the iMac Pro. That may wait to a socket change window though.
     
  15. Slash-2CPU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Location:
    New Orleans, USA
    #15
    It will depend on pricing. My total budget for the box is $8k, with an absolute upper max limit of $10k after sales tax, accessories, etc.

    12 or 16-core, 16 if the jump up is <$500

    One MPX Pro Vega II module I don't need dual or quad GPU, but I will want the additional TB ports that you don't get with the 580. This is also assuming it's not more than $1k for the step up from 580 to Vega II.

    32GB, 4 sticks. I'll buy the other 2 sticks after purchase for 48GB total. I'm sure Apple's price for the extra 16GB will be absurd. Buying 3rd party may allow me to up the GPU or CPU. My application benefits from cores and bandwidth. Having 2 extra RAM channels will matter, especially if I get 16 cores.

    256GB storage.

    I'll immediately plug in my SI-PEX40129 dual M.2 PCIe card that already has a 512GB 960 PRO and 500GB 970 EVO on it.
    Also will plug in my Sonnet SATA Tempo Pro that has two 2TB SSD's on it.
    If it's in the budget, I'll add in an Intel Optane 905p.

    Plan to test compatibility of the cheaper dual m.2 cards that don't have PCIe switches but require motherboard PCIe bifurcation support, which the 7,1 should have. Sell off the SI-PEX40129 if the Supermicro AOC-SLG3-2M2 dual or Asus Hyper m.2 quad work ok. PCIe switches run hot. I don't need a pre-heater for my m.2 SSD's. I already have these cards in other production systems here that I can briefly pull for testing.
     
  16. PowerMike G5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #16
    For me, probably a 12-core or 16-core with base RAM (upgrade later via 3rd party options). And depending on price, Vega II or Vega II duo and the Afterburner card.

    I'll just port over my PCIe cards from my current cMP as well, including my AJA Kona video I/O card. I've been thinking of maybe using my Vega FE in the beginning instead as well.
     
  17. Macintosh IIcx macrumors 6502

    Macintosh IIcx

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    Still waiting on the GPU upgrade prices to se if this is even a feasible path, but if it is:
    BTO: Upgrade to 12-core and 1 TB SSD.
    I will then add a Pro Vega II later or maybe just a common Vega VII if possible. We also need to upgrade from the 4 ram sticks to six to enjoy the full bandwidth of the six channel memory bus, just using 4 would be a shame. But that is easy to add yourself, so no problem.

    It is also possible that I will just upgrade to 1 TB and add everything myself later as money allows. I'm going to assume that the 16-core will be just as expensive to upgrade as to buy new and put in yourself and you would then have a Xeon 8-core to sell or use for another pc.

    Can't wait to see the upgrade prices but it might be heartbreaking news.
     
  18. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #18
    I wouldn't worry too much about the number of memory channels.

    These CPUs have huge caches that more than mask most issues with 4 channel vs 6 channel memory. Some "memory virus" benchmarks show a significant advantage to 6 vs 4 - but most actual application benchmarks that use the cache show little difference.
     
  19. Macpro2019 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    #19
    I wish we know the price in advance.
     
  20. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #20
    I guess 12c and Pro Vega II, not the Duo, just to ease into the new system. As soon as the higher tier CPUs start showing up on eBay, we'll all get busy upgrading. Baby steps.

    Memory and SSD depend on prices and if there is any sort of hardware connection with the T2 chip preventing later user upgrades. I'm guessing we'll be able to upgrade ourselves with fitting components.

    I'd actually rather put money into the display, which I think will be a thing of beauty. But I'll want to look at a few independent reviews before committing.
     
  21. shuto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    #21
    Currently hoping I can afford 16c, 48GB ram, 1TB SSD, Pro Vega II Duo, Promise Pegasus J2i (for internal time machine drive).

    The 16c has a turbo boost 3.0 of 4.6GHz, where the 12c has a turbo boost 3.0 of 4.5GHz. (see attached screenshot). I've been trying to read up about this and it sounds like turbo boost 3.0 can boost a single core to higher amounts. So good for working in single threaded Cinema4D tools, and photoshop. But it sounds like a PC has to have a driver to make this work, and so hope MacOS would also include this for this chip.

    Do you think its worth getting a 16c because of Turbo Boost 3.0 is higher than 12c?
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Slash-2CPU macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Location:
    New Orleans, USA
    #22
    According to the 7,1 product page, they're both 4.4GHz boost. Like you, I'm unsure that Apple/MacOS supports TurboBoost Max 3.0. The page stating they're all 4.4GHz seems to indicate that it does not support TBMT 3.0.

    You'll never notice the difference between 5.4 and 4.6GHz. That's only a 2% increase, and it will only occur when all other cores are virtually at idle. A perfectly single-threaded and completely CPU-bound task that takes 60 seconds at 4.5GHz would take 58.7 seconds at 4.6GHz.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. G.McGilli macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    #23
    Sorry - found on US site...

    Canada still shows the old Trashcan model only...
     
  24. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #24
    My main upgrade will be CPU based. I don’t need a powerful GPU, just a machine with good thermals.
     
  25. Macpro2019 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    #25
    Can t2 security chip be turned off?
     

Share This Page

45 June 10, 2019