Force iPhone 4 to stay on 2G/1xRTT (Verizon)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nateo200, May 17, 2011.

  1. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #1
    Is there a way to force the iPhone 4 on verizon to stay on 1xRTT? Like you know how on the GSM version you can turn off 3G HSPA and keep it on EDGE/GRPS? I want to do this with my verizon iPhone 4 but turn off 3G EvDO but still retain a cellular data connection through 1xRTT (so the current setting wont work because it turns off ALL cell data....). Reason being is I frequently go to an area where the 3G just blows but the 1xRTT is decent and I would like to keep a data connection for basic syncing of data, weather, etc. but my iPhone will hang on to the 3G connection at all costs and rarely changes to 1xRTT which has pretty good signal strength...
     
  2. chris2k5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #2
    Easy...

    Settings > General > Network > Slide "Cellular Data" off

    This will turn off 3G but will retain voice and SMS capabilities. I think it may also let you use data but the slow variant (2G equivalent)
     
  3. nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #3
    I explained in my post i already knew this and that it would not retain the data connection.
    Anyone else have an answer? I know i could on my droid via dialing a certain number...saved allot of battery...
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    You can't. No verizon phones to my knowledge have this ability.
     
  5. ap3604 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #5
    Yes, it can be done on Verizon with an Android but I'm not sure how with an iPhone...

    Have you tried dialing the *#*#4636#*#* trick? What happens if you do?
     
  6. nateo200, May 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011

    nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #6
    Nada. Hmm I still wish I had this option...
    (Below image I shopped out of boredom! haha)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. ap3604 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #8
    Does anyone have an update on this and if it is possible yet to force 2g/1x on a Verizon iPhone?

    This can be done on Verizon Android phones and would save iPhone owners alot of battery life.
     
  8. aneftp macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #9
    If u turn off cellular data on any phone, you lose the ability to receive or send MMS messages.

    Just so,something to think about. U still get regular texts since they technically do not rely on data
     
  9. nateo200, Jun 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011

    nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #10
    I'm curious if this is ever going to change as well...it may not be a big deal battery wise but I like to have the option for additional reasons mentioned in here.

    See my above post specifically the bold. Its the first post in the thread. Also I spell checked your post ;) I'm not the best with grammar and sometimes even spelling but those "u"'s and bad spacing are killing me :O :D I'm not sure if English is your first lauguage language or if you were just typing fast on your iPhone I just had a little bout of OCD there :p .
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    I’m sure English is his first language. :D
     
  11. nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #12
    Woah! Don't know how I missed that (English is my first language too! Well technically..). Like I said I'm bad at grammar myself at times so I usually don't go around like a grammar/spelling nazi! Damn no clue how I misspelled language! Ok you can get me on that one :p. I was under the impression aneftp was a physician though. Side note I like your signature about never arguing with a fool...very true!
     
  12. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #13
    I don't think any Verizon phone has the setting to only connect to 1xRTT. You'd have to type in that funky code (which doesn't appear to work) or download an App if you have an Android. I'm sure there's something out there if you jailbreak, but like I said, that feature doesn't come stock with any Verizon phone.
     
  13. mikelegacy macrumors 65816

    mikelegacy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #14
    Only way to do this is to jailbreak my friend.
     
  14. nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #15
    I've actually scene it on one of the android phones. It was one of the lower end Samsung ones and under "Wireless and Network" it had the option for "1xRTT only" and "1xRTT and EvDO" Without dialing *#*#4636#*#* of course....It was on one of my friends android Samsung phone....no clue about the name though.
     
  15. ap3604 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #16
    Once I jailbreak what tweak do I need to force the Verizon version to 2g/1x?
     
  16. Z¡G, Jan 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012

    Z¡G macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #17
    I know this thread is old but I have to post this.

    Up until a week or so ago, there has been no way at all to force a CDMA iPhone to stay on 1xrtt. But now this is possible with a jailbreak tweak. An expensive one unfortunately, but nevertheless works by giving you the "choice" to keep your CDMA IPhone force connected to 1xrtt "always" if you wish.

    The tweak "ONLY WORKS IN iOS 5".

    It is called IntelliScreenX. Before, all previous versions of ISX had a toggle for 3G and Edge. But if you had a CDMA iPhone, this toggle only kept you connected to 3G (EVDO), whether the toggle showed "E" or "3G". The latest version now allows you to choose which network you want to be on.

    The toggle for these connection is one toggle. Assuming you are already connected to 3G, slide down notification center and it should read "E". But the 3G icon is in te status bar. This just a little big after reboots or after your first installation of the tweak. Tap the toggle once and your data connection is disabled completely.

    It will say: "none". Tap the toggle again and your are connected to 3G (EVDO). And the toggle reads: "3G". Tap it again and the 3G icon on te status bar I instantly goes to the "o", and the toggle reads "E".

    Now: when toggling from 1xrtt to 3G, the status bar symbol will most likely not switch from "o" to "3G" instantly (sometimes it does). I have noticed when I toggle from 1xrtt to 3G, it will sometimes take up to 1 minute for the switch to 3G to actually happen. I contacted the developer and he said he is working on it.

    I think this is probably because this is not suppose to happen in the first place. But it is pretty flipping awesome that us CDMA iPhone users now have he option to "choose" which network we want to be on, whether it be 1xrtt or 3G.

    All ya have to do is pay $10.00 for it. Which originally I did not think this tweak was worth that much, but I boght it any way because I decided I could not live without marking read/deleting emails rite from notification center w/o even opening the mail app.lol.

    But now that this tweak offers this network freedom I really do think it is now worth $10.00. And I'm really glad I bought it.

    Now the only thing I'm working on now is I'm trying to find out if there is any Benifit to staying on 1xrtt like conserving battery life. As I'm sure most of you know, keeping a GSM iPhone connected to Edge/2G will help conserve the battery, but offers slower data speeds. (Sobo hear, don't have a GSM iPhone so I don't really know.....but have heard that this is true).

    I still have not figured out if staying on 1xrtt actually conserves the battery because I use the Internet often and 1xrtt is painfully slow (atleast in my area). So I have not really been able to fully test this. But so far, I have not really seem any difference in battery drain while staying connected to 1xrtt.
     
  17. Jimbo47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #18
    This actually worked. Thanks for posting. Verizon 4s btw. The other things this app can do is pretty cool as well. Definitely worth the $10 IMO
     
  18. nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #19
    I'm late to respond :O! BUT I wanted to say that this is pretty cool. Yeah 1xRTT and EVDO use the same underlying radio and technology so the difference is ONLY going to happen if the EVDO broadcast is very weak and on a different frequency and your phone has trouble trying to connect to it in which case your cellphone will bump up its radio strength to maintain the connection...if the 1xRTT is strong and on a different channel though disabling EVDO helps your battery. Its sort of complex and the situation isn't nearly as common as a similar situation where GSM was using WCDMA for 3G like when the iPhone 3G came out, I remember battery life was always on peoples mind and coverage issues. I actually ran a side by side test on a bus ride across upstate New York to test coverage and battery life a while back, was pretty interesting. The area I was in was sort of in a Canyon with EVDO being on 1900MHz only and 1xRTT being on both 1900MHz and 850MHz, the 1xRTT was 3-4 bars while the 3G-EVDO was 0-2 bars usually no more than 1 bar and a very fast battery drain!
     

Share This Page