Fox News App has Obama ad popup

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by johnpq, Aug 17, 2012.

1. johnpq macrumors newbie

On Aug 16 an Obama ad took over the Fox News App on my iPhone. When I launch the app the ad loads and waits to be viewed, as an other video. There is a button to close the ad but when I do it simply loads back up again. I deleted the app and reinstalled it with no luck.

Any ideas about how I can clear the thing out? I am not tech savvy.

John Q

2. ericrwalker macrumors 68030

ericrwalker

Really? I assume it's since it's a free app it's generates ads for revenue. Ad placement would probably go off the topics of the articles. So if there are articles about Obama on the app, it would make sense that it has Obama ads.

Have you clicked on the ads yet?:D

3. mrmacinrock macrumors newbie

John, I can confirm the same problem. Eric, it is not ad revenue- it's a hack.

Anytime I open the Fox News iPhone app, no matter what section I'm in (Articles, video, slideshow, etc) a full screen Obama splashpage opens with a play button. There is no option but to play the Pro-Obama video, which redirects to YouTube after the video completes. Clicking the X to close the spashpage only minimized the splashpage for a second before it immediately reopens itself.

I've got them to stop, try this:

1. Close the iPhone Fox News app by clicking the home button on the iPhone
    2. Double-press the home button to display the scrollable list of open iPhone apps
    3. Touch-and-hold any of the displayed apps that are open so that they enable the minus icon on the icons.
    4. Shut down (click the minus) the apps if they are available: FoxNews, Safari, YouTube
    5. Don't forget to scroll left or right to ensure you find all the open apps

After doing those steps the popups seemed to stop. I can now stop being forced to watch lies promoting the president who will go down as being the worst president in US history.

4. ericrwalker macrumors 68030