FreeAgent Go HD: bought PC version inadvertently instead of Mac, can I still use it?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by diehldun, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. diehldun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #1
    I just came back from Costco and picked up a FreeAgent Go 250GB portable hard drive to back up my MBP for the first time. I just noticed, however, that the box doesn't mention anything about Mac OS X compatibility; just Windows XP/Vista. And a closer look at Seagate's website reveals that they sell two versions of the FreeAgent Go: a Mac and a PC version.

    As Costco is quite a drive away, am I better off opening it up and giving it a try (do you think it'll be compatible with Time Machine?) or just return it for a different hard drive? I really should've paid closer attention to the compatibility labeling (or lack thereof)... I suspect it should be okay, but better safe than sorry I guess. Thanks.
     
  2. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Yeah, you should be able to. My guess is that the only difference between the Windows and Mac versions are that 1 is FAT32 formatted, while the Mac version is Mac OS Journaled. Either ways, in Disk Utility, you can convert the drive.
     
  3. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #3
    yes. And use disk utility, not the software that came with the drive.
     
  4. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #4
    The difference appears to be the PC version comes with syncing software, is USB only, and is formatted with NTFS, while the Mac version has FW800/400 in addition to USB, comes with no software, and is formatted as HFS+. If you can mount and see the drive with disk utility, then just reformat the drive as HFS+ and you should be good to go.
     
  5. diehldun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #5
    Thanks for all the replies! After opening up Disk Utility, how do you "reformat" the drive to HFS+ from NTFS? Should I reformat before I backup my stuff? And is this necessary? Thanks again.
     
  6. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #6
    1. Select the drive
    2. Click on the Erase pane
    3. Specify the format - as indicated in the screen cap
    4. Give the drive a name
    5. Click erase
     

    Attached Files:

  7. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    And it most certainly is necessary. Mac OS X can't even write to NTFS formatted disks without third party software. And for Time Machine to work, it needs to be HFS+.
     
  8. hydrokayak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Lancaster, NH
    #8
    I just purchased this drive from Amazon, and noticed after buying that it was listed as XP/Vista only. A few of the reviews said that they were unable to get them to work, especially with the dock, so I panicked a little.

    Fortunately you guys confirmed my thoughts that the individual was incorrect. I think I should have gotten the FW800 version, but this will be fine for my current needs.
     

Share This Page