Galaxy S5 ROM is a bit of a monster, taking up nearly 8GB of storage

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by quest7, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. quest7 macrumors member

    quest7

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    oklahoma city
  2. vomhorizon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #2
  3. quest7 thread starter macrumors member

    quest7

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    #3
    I am not sure. I am not that smart.
     
  4. albertfallickwa macrumors 6502a

    albertfallickwa

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    #4
    It's around 4-6 times larger than stock Android or even LG Android builds. iOS is even better.
     
  5. quest7 thread starter macrumors member

    quest7

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    oklahoma city
    #5
    Better as in bigger?
     
  6. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Yeah, this is pretty ridiculous. Better make sure and get a 32GB version.;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • s5.jpg
      s5.jpg
      File size:
      144.5 KB
      Views:
      325
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    It's like unnecessary threads. They take up additional space that could be better optimised if it was all kept with the main S5 thread ;)

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1703471

    Please folks search and use common sense before making new threads.
     
  8. Shanghaichica macrumors 603

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Which they could have and should have offset by making 32GB the base model.
     
  9. Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #11
    The sheer amount of bloat and crapware that Samsung keeps adding is one reason why Google is reigning them in. You literally get two sets of everything with Samsung. 2 assistants. 2 emails. 2 of everything. Not to mention the added UI stuff like eye tracking. It is seriously out of control on Samsungs part.
     
  10. Shanghaichica macrumors 603

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Some people like all of that stuff. It's better to have the option than not. However it shouldn't come at the expense of storage space. They should have compensated for it.
     
  11. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #13
    It's not just storage space though, I'm more concerned with the performance loss
     
  12. Shanghaichica macrumors 603

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    There's nothing wrong with the performance of the Note 3 or the S4 and it has all the same 'bloat' on board. From 2012 onwards flagship touchwiz devices have not lagged. The S4 had a few problems at launch but that was fixed with a software update. By the time I got the S4 in August it didn't lag.
     
  13. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #15
    I would still argue it is smoother without it :-/
     
  14. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #16
    My Nexus 5 and Moto X when I had it are both smoother than my Note 3 (which is now being used by the wife). Touchwiz definitely slows it down, though not by much.

    Curious how 4.4 performs with touchwiz though, it should be better.
     
  15. Shanghaichica macrumors 603

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Yes I accept that stock phones are faster and smother, but just because something has touch wiz on it, it doesn't necessarily mean it is going to be slow and laggy.
     
  16. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #18
    Agreed, I was just moaning about people not having choice :)
     
  17. Shanghaichica macrumors 603

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Well hopefully they will release a google play edition again.
     
  18. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #20
    Worldwide :)
     
  19. JaySoul macrumors 68020

    JaySoul

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #21
    Can't agree with that.

    I got my S4 in November and there is definitely "lag" there. Even after having switched off loads of things like S Voice etc etc.

    I had a Nexus 5 for a week - zero lag with ART enabled, it flew.
     
  20. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #22
    Let's put it this way:

    I looked at every folder in my Surface RT that wasn't user (which means it included Office and applications) and it said that it takes up less than 8.5gb of space on the disk.
     
  21. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    I best most of the space used by the RT is for recovery purposes. You know you can literally reformat and re-install Windows from the OS alone.
     
  22. Michael Goff macrumors G3

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #24
    Windows RT 8.1 Recovery files: 202.1 MB according to my MBA where I'm storing it for now.
     
  23. khha4113 macrumors regular

    khha4113

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #25

Share This Page