Garageband is possibly the single greatest piece of software ever

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by motulist, May 14, 2011.

1. motulist macrumors 601

motulist

I used to work in the music industry and I did a lot of music production work using an expensive high end audio sequence app called Digital Performer. A few years ago I got out of the music biz and when I did I decided to ditch doing music production and just focus on making music with my real music instruments (piano and guitar mainly).

This previous september I bought a new Mac which happened to come with Garageband, and a couple of months ago I decided to fire it up just to have some fun. I didn't expect to do much with it because I assumed it was pretty much just a toy. Holy cow was I wrong! I did more real music production in the past 2 months than I wound up getting accomplished in 6 months when I used to use Digital Performer (DP). DP and other similar high end sequencers are always so frustrating and un-fun to use, I'd always wind up getting bogged down in dealing with the technical workings of the sequence program itself instead of, y'know, actually making music. Working in Garageband is so fun and simple and intuitive that I actually get MUCH more music production actually accomplished per hour than I ever did with the high end sequencer apps.

There definitely are a couple of features that are sorely lacking in Garageband that definitely do limit me from doing some of the things I want to do, but those negatives are FAR outweighed by the overall level of pure music-creation awesomeness that Garageband delivers.

I had to share this news with the world.

2. JCMusic macrumors newbie