Genius Bar gave me a unlocked replacement

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Obscurelight, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Obscurelight macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Was wondering have anyone else Had this happen to them?

    Basically a month ago I took a Verizon 4S in to the Genius Bar because the home button wasn't working well. The phone was unlocked by the Verizon Global support department already. The genius agreed that the button was faulty and should replace the entire phone. So therefore I asked since my phone was already unlocked would be replacement be an unlocked one as well. The genius told me no and that I will need to contact Verizon again for a new unlock as I'm getting a new phone.

    Fast forward to this morning. I called Verizon global support to get my phone unlocked as I'm getting ready to travel again in a month or so. Basically the rep tried to unlock the phone but told me that the phone was already unlocked and that I'm good to go.

    Has anyone else gotten a Verizon replacement that was already unlocked? I am just worried that when I am overseas and I find out the rep was wrong, I'd be screwed with a locked phone.

    (Before telling me to stick in a t mobile or att sim, Verizon official unlocks only works with sims from outside the USA)

    Thanks
     
  2. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #2
    Unlocked status carry over your replacement! Nothing special or magic you got there!
     
  3. Obscurelight thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    oh ok I was confused because I asked the genius if it carries over and he said no and that I'd have to get Verizon to unlock the new one
     
  4. VandyChem2009 macrumors 6502a

    VandyChem2009

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #4
    Guess he isn't a Genius.....lol, see what I did there.
     
  5. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    There's your problem!

    The US Apple "Genius" staff don't appear to have been trained on a worldwide policy that Apple has had for about three years.
     
  6. Obscurelight thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Haha alright fingers crossed that hopefully I won't be stuck with a locked phone overseas because even the VZ rep was confused and said under normal circumstances I shouldn't get an already unlocked phone as a replacement but in her database it shows my Meid/Imei unlocked.
     
  7. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #7
    put an att sim in it and see.. if you can that is.

    despite what the guy above said, unlocked phones are based on the IMEI.. so unless they gave them the new IMEI when activating the replacement it wont be unlocked.
     
  8. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #8
    Utter nonsense.

    When you obtain a replacement from Apple, they'll configure it exactly the same as the device it's replacing.

    If the original device was unlocked, then the replacement will be unlocked.
     
  9. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #9
    iPhone 4S verizon/sprint GSM unlocked do not work with local carriers such as AT&T and Tmobile. However, the iPhone 5 verizon version does work with US local carriers
     
  10. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #10
    if it was factory unlocked yes...
    they are going to replace it with the exact same model.. his case an iphone 4s verizon. He calls verizon gives them the ESN. done. IF the rep knows what hes doing he can tell the verizon internal rep.. hey you guys unlocked this already..and they will on lock on the sim on verizons side.
    They cant make a "configure it exactly" replacement to have the same imei, sim # esn etc..
    its not nonsense i had to call and get my re-unlocked after a replacement.

    ----------

    oh okay. ive only used mine internationally
     
  11. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #11
    That should not be the case.

    The unlock is not linked to the IMEI, it's linked to the device.

    The IMEI is merely used to identify the device.

    When you get an unlocked iPhone replaced at the Genius Bar (or any of Apple's authorised repair methods) then the replacement should have the same "activation profile". It does not matter how the device was unlocked or that the details of the phone are (obviously going to be) different.

    Services like unlock fusion are giving people the wrong impression about the role played by the IMEI in an iPhone unlock.
     
  12. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #12
    right its linked to the device... so if you get a replacement device.... its not the same device?
     
  13. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #13
    Ok then, let's put it this way.

    If you take in a device locked to AT&T.

    How does Apple determine which carrier the replacement should be locked to?

    Simple. They check which carrier the original device was locked to. If it was unlocked, then the replacement is unlocked too.

    It's not rocket science.
     
  14. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #14

    if its not rocket science then why cant you understand..
    a verizon iphone unlocked for international use isnt the same as a factory unlocked iphone.. period.

    YES an Apple employee replacing one can have the phone re-unlocked when replacing it.. but they still have to tell verizon too do that when activating it. give them the new device info.. so it can be. This does not always happen.
    I for one had to call verizon and have them re-unlock it after getting a replacement.. .
     
  15. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #15
    I understand the difference between regular unlocked iPhones and those unlocked for international use by Verizon.

    Yet, in terms of the process at Apple, there should be absolutely no difference. In terms of the way SIM locking works with an iPhone, what Verizon does is not that different to other carriers.

    If you take a device to Apple for service, you should get one that is functionally equivalent. If the replacement is locked, they aren't keeping up their end of the bargain and you should complain.
     
  16. BFizzzle macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #16
    you're right there should be, but its not always.
    but you cant ever guarantee a c.s.r.
     
  17. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #17
    IMEI is identify by IT status aka carriers as well!

    Apple determines by IMEI that the carriers buy it from or by the first iphone that have bee with thet carriers. So that mean the replacement iphone will carry over the status of the original that got swapped.
     
  18. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #18
    None of your post makes any sense.
     
  19. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #19
    Yes my posts do more than yours! Like I said IMEI iphone current status (carriers, GB, activate, unlocked etc) will carry over the replacement iphone.

    I was a Genisu so I know how it works! Before giving the customers the new replacement we will have to enter the current IMEI iphone that is grtting swap! Then whatever the status is will carry over, and no matter which country you got your iphone from too!
     
  20. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #20
    No offense, but pretty much every sentence in your earlier post was nowhere near correct English.

    I understand this post more - so you're agreeing with me then?
     
  21. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #21
    Yea sorry it was late i was just trying to reply to you.
     
  22. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #22
    I know what you mean!
     

Share This Page