Genius says "There have been updates with no change to revision #" WhaaaaT?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Kchino, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. Kchino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #1
    So I went to the genius bar to have my iPhone checked out because I was having issues charging it. The small icon on the status bar would indicate fully charged but the big green stand-by one would always be at 90% even being on the wall charger for 8 hours or so.

    He starts playing with it, going through the menus and what not and then he ask me when was the last time that I synced it to my PB. I said "hmmm... Monday or Tuesday I've been using the wall charger exclusively to charge it." He then proceeds to tell me that everything seems to be working fine, but that there have been updates and I should sync with iTunes.

    Of course I was skeptical, I said the last time I synced(Tuesday) it was at version 1.0 and it said it would check again on the 10th. He says they have been rolling out minor bug fixes and performance enhancements under the radar and that they won't change the version number until they add some new functionality. So of course I ran home synced and sure enough my battery bug has been fixed! Sneaky Apple.

    If you haven't synced in a couple of days and have been experiencing minor quibbles, try it and post in here with your results.
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    What build of 1.0 do you have? (General->About)

    1.0 (1A543a) here.
     
  3. linsam macrumors 6502

    linsam

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #3
    This is...

    ...very encouraging news! It is nice to know that Apple is hard at work to help make things better for all as quickly as possible! Way to go Apple!
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    I remain skeptical. It would be the first time I know of Apple would release software or firmware to the public without their knowledge. iTunes should have indicated the update progress. Builds can change internally (with same version #), but not to the public.

    Apple is probably hard at work for the first update anyway, and we'll probably see it soon. It's won't be 1.0, though. Most likely 1.0.1.

    The battery indication may indeed be a bug, but might be affected by charging and, unfortunately, the fix just a coincidence.
     
  5. Kchino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #5
    I'm at 1.0 (1A543a) as well. How much credence will this hold if we all have the same build? Is it possible that they could make revisions and not change the build #?
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    Pretty close to no chance, I'm afraid.

    I wouldn't worry too much about the glitch - that sort of thing gets fixed.

    I haven't seen much wrong on mine, except for some crashes of Safari and YouTube, but they just pick up where they left off. It'll just keep improving with time, and some of these issues will get fixed sooner than later.

    edit: as a side note, I'm surprised an Apple Genius (or anyone at the Apple Store) would give out any information that isn't public knowledge. Given the benefit of the doubt, he probably was trying to smooth any ruffled feathers. Hopefully, your issue has been fixed by a charge cycle or two.
     
  7. motorazr macrumors 6502

    motorazr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Frozen Waste...wait. Duluth, Minnesota.
    #7
    Well, there is a problem with checking our revisions. If we all have synced our phones, then it has been updated, and if you just got yours (not yet updated) to see the version you will have to activate it...meaning it syncs and updates! Mine has been more stable in safari since I synced it today...first time since activation...

    Has anyone noticed that the iPhone slows down and starts being less responsive if you have run all the apps for several days? I found that turning if fully off and on again fixes the issue, but it reminds me of using all the ram on my computer and after a week (or three ;) ) it needs a restart.
     
  8. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #8
    I see what you're saying, but I was watching [too] closely during my activation and didn't see any sign of a updating. But, even if it did, the build number on the phone after syncing/activation should be accurate.
     
  9. motorazr macrumors 6502

    motorazr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Frozen Waste...wait. Duluth, Minnesota.
    #9
    I was also watching VERY closley...as in eyes GLUED :)eek: ) to my screen (the marks are still there :p) but your right...I didn't really see signs of updates...that and doesn't iTunes have ti have a new download for updates?
     
  10. Kchino thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #10
    Yeah the more I think about it the more unlikely it seems. But, anything is possible. He specifically said minor fixes and enhancements though that were unannounced. It didn't seem like he was bs'ing me but who knows. I haven't read the EULA but wouldn't put it past any corporation to do what's in their best interest.

    Well my battery is charging "fully" so I happy either way. <Reality Distortion Field in full effect!>
     
  11. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #11
    Glad to hear it's working. Or at least it appears to be.... ;) (RDF effect)
     
  12. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #12
    Coulda been an issue which was known about and revolved around using a pure AC adapter. When he put it on the cradle the indicators synched back up as the workaround...
     
  13. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #13
    I was told the same thing last Saturday by two geniuses.

    they were downloading for a "firmware" update that they said would address some battery issues.

    but when i got home and looked in itunes, there was no update.

    so i called my genius back and he said the firmware they were downloading was in fact the new itunes 7.3. the store hadn't had a chance to download it so that's what he meant.
     

Share This Page