Get my Macbook Pro 7,1 to take 16GB ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by veo321, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. veo321 macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #1
    I was wondering how I would go about making my Macbook Pro 7,1 (Mid 2010) be able to handle 16GB of ram. I've seen people do it, I just don't know how.
     
  2. SpyderBite macrumors 65816

    SpyderBite

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Location:
    Xanadu
    #2
    Don't know if that model will take 16gb or not. Don't see why not based on the type of ram it comes with stock. I have 16gb in my 2012 13" MBP but that's a different configuration.
     
  3. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    2010 cannot accept 16gb. Chipset doesn't support it.
     
  4. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Only 8GB max.
    2011 and later only supports up to 32GB.
     
  5. veo321 thread starter macrumors regular

    veo321

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    #5
    My friend managed to get 16gb ram to run on his 2009 MacBook which has a max of 6GB. So I know it's possible, I just don't know how.
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    It is not possible, no matter what you do. Your friend is either lying to you or he hacked the firmware, which someone with an engineering major might be able to.
     
  7. opiapr macrumors member

    opiapr

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    #7
    You need OWC modules and OSX 10.7.5 or later.

    check it out here. http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/8566DDR3S16P/
     

Share This Page