Getting 4G in Canada with Sprint

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by corry20, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. corry20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #1
    I have a unlocked IPhone 5 on Sprint and would like to use it in Canada in Toronto.I would like to use 4G with a Candian SIM card.Can I do this with a Sprint iPhone?Which provider should I chose?Thanks
     
  2. MultiMediaWill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    Is Toronto a nice city? I'm thinking about visiting soon.
     
  3. corry20 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
  4. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #4
    You can use it in Canada on any of the major carriers (Bell, Rogers and Telus), as well as as some of the smaller brands like Fido and Virgin..

    Who you should go with would depend on your needs, length of time spent here, etc.
     
  5. TheProFTW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    Same here! Driving up there soon
     
  6. corry20 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #6
    Will I be bumped down to 3G instead of 4G with a Sprint iphon5.With a Canadian SIM card
     
  7. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #7
    It depends what service provider you use, there is 4G and LTE in Toronto.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    You called Sprint to have your iphone 5 unlocked right?
    I don't think the bands are compatible so it will not connect to LTE. Just 3G and HSPA+
     
  9. corry20, Jun 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013

    corry20 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #9
    Yes It is unlocked.Is At@T the only carrier I can get 4G LTE speeds in Canada with a Canadian SIM card
     
  10. iDuel macrumors 6502a

    iDuel

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Greece/USA
    #10
    I don't think AT&T operates in Canada. You may just want to call sprint and go over with them the bands the iPhone supports so that you can see if you will pick up 4G in Canada.
     
  11. corry20 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #11
    No they don't operate in Canada was just wondering if I unlocked a AT&T phone if I could get LTE in Canada.

    Sprint game me this
    MHz and bands:
    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1900, 2100 MHz); UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz); LTE (Bands 1, 3, 5, 13, 25)
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    AT&T is in the US only.
    You wont get LTE speeds outside the US in any North America country with your Sprint iphone 5. Just in Europe and certain places in Asia.

    Yes, with an unlocked AT&T iphone 5 you can get LTE in Canada.
     
  13. corry20 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #13
    That was it what I thought.Thanks
     

Share This Page